Mamata Thanks People After TMC’s Resounding Victory in West Bengal Civic Polls

Mamata Banerjee congratulated the people after the ruling TMC won 102 of the 108 municipalities in West Bengal.

Breaking News
2 min read

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Wednesday, 2 March, congratulated the people after the ruling Trinamool Congress won 102 of the 108 municipalities in the state.

The Left Front managed to get one municipality and the newly formed 'Humro Party' won the Darjeeling municipality while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to open its account.

Taking to Twitter, Banerjee said, "Heart-felt gratitude to Ma-Mati-Manush for yet another overwhelming mandate to us.

Congratulations to the winning candidates of All India Trinamool Congress in the Municipal Elections. Let victory enhance our responsibility and dedication. Let triumph impart humility. Let us work together for peace, prosperity and development of the state. Jai Bangla!"
Mamata Banerjee

The Left Front secured its victory in Taherpur municipality in the Nadia district. The BJP, which had emerged as the main opposition party in West Bengal after winning 77 seats in the Assembly polls last year, failed to open its account. The Congress too failed to win a single seat. Surprisingly, the newly-formed Humro Party won the Darjeeling Municipality. Four municipalities had a hung result.


The civic body polls, held on 27 February amid violence, had recorded a 77 percent turnout. Reports of intimidation allegedly by the TMC workers, electoral malpractices and attacks on journalists emerged from various parts of the state on the polling day.

The BJP, meanwhile, has demanded a repoll. On Monday, the party had called for a 12-hour strike against the violence and alleged electoral malpractices – a charge denied by the ruling TMC.

The results declared so far show that the Trinamool has not only been able to consolidate its position in south Bengal but has whitewashed BJP in north Bengal too, putting a big question mark on the saffron brigade's so-called stronghold in districts like Cooch Behar, Malda, South and North Dinajpur, and Alipurduar.

The Trinamool Congress has won in municipalities like Contai – home of Suvendu Adhikari – and Kharagpur from where former state BJP president Dilip Ghosh had won the assembly election and now party's Hiran Chatterjee is the MLA.

The TMC has also made strong inroads in BJP strongman Arjun Singh's backyard by winning the Bhatpara municipality in North 24 Parganas.

(This IANS copy has been edited for clarity.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
Read More