BJP Issues First List of Candidates For Gujarat Assembly Elections

Chief Minister Vijaybhai Rupani has been named the BJP candidate from Rajkot West.

2 min read
File Image of Amit Shah.

After a lull ahead of the Gujarat assembly elections, the BJP announced their first list of candidates, featuring 70 names, on 17 November.

The party has named Chief Minister Vijaybhai Rupani as its candidate from Rajkot West. Deputy Chief Minister Nitinbhai Patel will contest from Mahesana and state party president Jitubhai Vaghani from Bhavnagar West.

The names were finalised by BJP's Central Election Committee, which met on 15 November.

The meeting, chaired by BJP president Amit Shah, was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj among others, party leaders said.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!