75 Yrs of Quit India: Parliament Prepares to Hold Special Session

Sushma Swaraj will head the treasury bench in Lok Sabha, while Arun Jaitley is expected to lead Rajya Sabha.

1 min read
The Parliament building in New Delhi. 

Both Houses of Parliament will hold a special session on 9 August to mark the 75th anniversary of the Quit India movement, which later snowballed into enabling India gaining Independence from the British Raj in 1947.

The Lok Sabha treasury bench will be headed by Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj, while Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will lead the treasury bench in the Rajya Sabha.

According to an Economic Times report, both Houses will suspend the Question Hour and Zero Hour to make way for the special session’s proceedings.

As part of the anniversary celebrations, all parties are also expected to express their views on the movement, with the discussion culminating into a resolution that will be passed in order to reaffirm their commitment to the nation. The resolution will most likely be read out by Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

(We all love to express ourselves, but how often do we do it in our mother tongue? Here's your chance! This Independence Day, khul ke bol with BOL – Love your Bhasha. Sing, write, perform, spew poetry – whatever you like – in your mother tongue. Send us your BOL at bol@thequint.com or WhatsApp it to 9910181818.)

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!