Shatabdi Express: Timings, Routes, Ticket Fare

The first Shatabdi Express operated between New Delhi and Jhansi, which was later extended to Bhopal.

2 min read
Representative image of a Shatabdi Express

Shatabdi Express, a superfast train, was launched in the year 1988 to commemorate the centenary of the first Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru. This train was introduced by the then Railway Minister Shri Madhavrao Scindia.

The first Shatabdi Express operated between New Delhi and Jhansi, which was later extended to Bhopal. Now this train is known as Bhopal Shatabdi. Since then many trains have been added to the superfast train series.

Shatabdi is a high-speed train that stops at very few stations. It has an average speed of around 90 km/hr, while it can run at a maximum speed of 160 km/hr. It is a premium, fully-airconditioned train, wherein the passengers are greeted with tea, coffee, water, and meals.

In this article, we have curated the details of all Shatabdi Express trains running across the country.


Time Table

NameStart StationStart TimeEnd StationEnd TimeDistance
SC Duronto Express (22203)VISAKHAPATNAM19:45SECUNDERABAD JN06:15699 kms
MAS Duronto Express (22206)MADURAI JN22:45MGR CHENNAI CTL07:20559 kms
NDLS Shatabdi (12001)HABIBGANJ15:00NEW DELHI23:30707 kms
Bhopal Shatabdi (12002)NEW DELHI06:00HABIBGANJ14:25707 kms
LJN Swran Shtbd (12003)LUCKNOW NE15:35NEW DELHI22:15511 kms
LJN Swran Shtbd (12004)NEW DELHI06:10LUCKNOW NE12:45511 kms
Kalka Shatabdi (12005)NEW DELHI17:15KALKA21:20303 kms
Kalka Shatabdi (12006)KALKA06:15NEW DELHI10:20303 kms
Shatabdi Express (12007)MGR CHENNAI CTL06:00MYSURU JN13:00500 kms
Shatabdi Express (12008)MYSURU JN14:15MGR CHENNAI CTL21:40500 kms
Shatabdi Express (12009)MUMBAI CENTRAL06:30AHMEDABAD JN12:45491 kms
Shatabdi Express (12010)AHMEDABAD JN14:45MUMBAI CENTRAL21:20491 kms
Kalka Shatabdi (12011)NEW DELHI07:40KALKA11:45303 kms
Kalka Shatabdi (12012)KALKA17:45NEW DELHI21:55303 kms
Amritsar Shatabdi (12013)NEW DELHI16:30AMRITSAR JN22:30448 kms
Amritsar Shatabdi (12014)AMRITSAR JN04:55NEW DELHI11:00448 kms
Ajmer Shatabdi (12015)NEW DELHI06:05DAURAI13:10450 kms
Ajmer Shatabdi (12016)DAURAI15:15NEW DELHI22:40450 kms
Dehradun Shatabdi (12017)NEW DELHI06:45DEHRADUN12:50315 kms
Dehradun Shatabdi (12018)DEHRADUN16:55NEW DELHI22:50315 kms
Shatabdi Express (12019)HOWRAH JN06:05RANCHI13:15426 kms
Shatabdi Express (12020)RANCHI13:45HOWRAH JN21:30426 kms
Shatabdi Express (12025)PUNE JN05:50SECUNDERABAD JN14:20597 kms
PUNE Shatabdi (12026)SECUNDERABAD JN14:45PUNE JN23:10597 kms
Shatabdi Express (12027)MGR CHENNAI CTL17:30KSR BENGALURU22:30362 kms
Shatabdi Express (12028)KSR BENGALURU06:00MGR CHENNAI CTL11:00362 kms
Swarna Shatabdi (12029)NEW DELHI07:20AMRITSAR JN13:45448 kms
Swarna Shatabdi (12030)AMRITSAR JN16:50NEW DELHI23:15448 kms
Amritsar Shatabdi (12031)NEW DELHI07:20AMRITSAR JN13:45448 kms
Amritsar Shatabdi (12032)AMRITSAR JN16:50NEW DELHI23:15448 kms
CNB NDLS Shatabdi (12033)KANPUR CENTRAL06:00NEW DELHI11:20437 kms
NDLS CNB Shatabdi (12034)NEW DELHI15:50KANPUR CENTRAL20:45437 kms
NDLS LDH Shatabdi (12037)NEW DELHI07:05LUDHIANA JN12:25329 kms
LDH NDLS Shatabdi (12038)LUDHIANA JN16:40NEW DELHI22:05329 kms
KGM NDLS Shatabdi (12039)KATHGODAM15:35NEW DELHI20:50281 kms
NDLS KGM Shatabdi (12040)NEW DELHI06:20KATHGODAM11:40281 kms
Shatabdi Express (12041)HOWRAH JN14:15NEW JALPAIGURI22:30561 kms
NJP HWH Shatabdi (12042)NEW JALPAIGURI05:30HOWRAH JN13:35561 kms
NDLS MOGA Shatabdi (12043)NEW DELHI07:05MOGA14:05398 kms
NDLS Shatabdi (12044)MOGA15:00NEW DELHI22:05398 kms
NDLS CDG Shatabdi (12045)NEW DELHI19:15CHANDIGARH22:45266 kms
CDG NDLS Shatabdi (12046)CHANDIGARH12:00NEW DELHI15:25266 kms
NDLS FZR Shatabdi (12047)NEW DELHI16:20FIROZPUR CANT22:50386 kms
FZR NDLS Shatabdi (12048)FIROZPUR CANT06:00NEW DELHI12:05386 kms
Gatimaan Express (12049)JHANSI JN15:05H NIZAMUDDIN19:30403 kms
Gatimaan Express (12050)H NIZAMUDDIN08:10JHANSI JN12:35403 kms
Shatabdi Express (12243)MGR CHENNAI CTL07:10COIMBATORE JN14:15497 kms
Shatabdi Express (12244)COIMBATORE JN15:05MGR CHENNAI CTL22:15497 kms
Satabdi Express (12277)HOWRAH JN14:25PURI22:05502 kms
Satabdi Express (12278)PURI05:45HOWRAH JN13:40502 kms
DGHA SUP Ac Express (12847)HOWRAH JN11:10DIGHA14:20186 kms
HWH SUP Ac Express (12848)DIGHA15:30HOWRAH JN18:40186 kms


Shatabdi Express trains are a series of superfast trains that connect various cities across India. The fare for the same depends on the route of the train and the class you want to travel in. It has two seating options: Chair Car (CC) and Executive Class (EC)

Approximate fare

  • Chair Car (CC): Rs 1,135
  • Executive Class (EC): Rs 2,325

Note: The above-mentioned fares are of Habibganj - New Delhi Shatabdi Express (12001). Fares may changes, as dynamic fares are also included sometimes.



Shatabdi Express trains run on various routes, connecting one state to another. For complete information on the Shatabdi superfast special trains routes, passengers can visit or download the NTES app.

How to Book Tickets

Tickets for the Shatabdi Express can be booked just as tickets are booked for any other Indian train. Passengers can book it from IRCTC's official website or visit any railway reservation counter in India.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!