Diwali 2019 Puja Timing, Shubh Muhurat, Puja Vidhi, Laxmi Aarti

Here’s all you need to know about Diwali puja timings and shubh muhurat.

1 min read
Diwali 2019 Puja Timing, Shubh Muhurat, Puja Vidhi, Laxmi Aarti

This year, Diwali, or Deepawali, falls on Sunday, 27 October, although Amavasya (new moon) is also on 28 October. According to Hindu Puranas, Deepavali is celebrated on the Amavasya Tithi of Kartik month, but it is also believed that the date of Amavasya starts in the evening, i.e. Pradosh Kaal, and in the middle of the night.

According to the belief of scriptures, Diwali will be celebrated on 27 October this year. Actually, Chaturdashi Tithi will end on at 12.35 pm. Amavasya Tithi will end at 9.09 am on 28 October. Hence, Diwali will be celebrated till 28 October morning until the Amavasya Tithi ends.

This year, the auspicious time of Diwali Puja is till 06: 42- 08:12 pm.


When is Govardhan Puja Celebrated?

Govardhan Puja is celebrated right after the festival of light, Diwali. Mostly celebrated in the northern parts of India, Govardhan Puja is celebrated with fervour and great joy. Lord Krishna is worshipped on this day and stories of how he saved the people of Vrindavan from the wrath of Lord Indra are told. This year, Govardhan Puja is being celebrated on 28 October.

The festival is also known as Annakut Puja, or the Annakut Utsav by some devotees. Chhappan bhog, or the 56 delicacies, are offered to Lord Krishna and his idols are decorated with new clothes, ornaments and flowers.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Quint Insider

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Insider Benefits
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!