Mumbai Indians Release 7 Players Ahead of 2021 IPL Auction

Mumbai Indians have released 7 players ahead of IPL 2021, including Lasith Malinga.

1 min read
Mumbai Indians have released 7 players ahead of IPL 2021, including Lasith Malinga.

It’s officially IPL season and 20 January 2021 marks the final day the eight franchises have to inform the BCCI about the players they’d like to release ahead of the new season this summer.

Defending champions Mumbai Indians are one of the teams who have let go of the most players with as many as seven members of their franchise released, according to an official press statement.

Lasith Malinga who pulled out of the 2020 season due to personal reasons has been let go by Mumbai along with New Zealand pacer Mitch McClenaghan, Australians Nathan Coulter-Nile and James Pattinson, Sherfane Rutherford from Guyana and uncapped Indians Prince Balwant Rai and Digvijay Deshmukh.

Their updated squad list now comprises of 18 players, leaving the team with 7 spots to fill in the IPL auction that’s expected to take place on 16 Feb, 2021.


Mumbai Indians’ Released Players

  1. Lasith Malinga
  2. Mitch McClenaghan
  3. James Pattinson
  4. Nathan Coulter-Nile
  5. Sherfane Rutherford
  6. Prince Balwant Rai
  7. Digivijay Deshmukh

Mumbai Indians’ Retained Players

  1. Rohit Sharma
  2. Quinton de Kock (WK)
  3. Suryakumar Yadav
  4. Ishan Kishan (WK)
  5. Chris Lynn
  6. Anmolpreet Singh
  7. Saurabh Tiwary
  8. Aditya Tare (WK)
  9. Kieron Pollard
  10. Hardik Pandya
  11. Krunal Pandya
  12. Anukul Roy
  13. Jasprit Bumrah
  14. Trent Boult
  15. Rahul Chahar
  16. Jayant Yadav
  17. Dhawal Kulkarni
  18. Mohsin Khan

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!