KKR Knock Virat Kohli's RCB Out of IPL 2021, Will Play Delhi For Spot in Final

KKR have continued their dream run in the UAE, beating RCB to enter Qualifier 2.

3 min read
<div class="paragraphs"><p>KKR have beaten RCB in the IPL 2021 Eliminator.</p></div>
  • KKR beat RCB by four wickets to enter Qualifier 2 vs Delhi Capitals, winner of the match enters the IPL final.

  • Royal Challengers Bangalore: 138/7 (Virat Kohli 39, Devdutt Padikkal 21, Sunil Narine 4/21, Lockie Ferguson 2/30)

  • Kolkata Knight Riders: 139/6 (Shubman Gill 29, Sunil Narine 26, Yuzvendra Chahal 2/16, Harshal Patel 2/19, Mohammed Siraj 2/19)


Kolkata Knight Riders have knocked Royal Challengers Bangalore out of IPL 2021 with a 4 wicket victory in the Eliminator on Monday night in Sharjah.

After electing to bat first, Virat Kohli's RCB managed to score 138/7 in their 20 overs after a dream spell by Sunil Narine saw him picking the wickets of RCB's star batters Virat Kohli, KS Bharat, AB de Villiers and Glenn Maxwell.

In reply, KKR were mostly in control of the chase specially after Sunil Narine came into bat at 3 down. He smashed three sixes off his first three balls to take the equation from 60 needed off 54 to 38 needed from 48 balls. It did get a bit tight towards the end with the team needing 12 runs from 12 balls but skipper Eoin Morgan and Shakib al Hasan ensured they got past the finish line, with 2 balls to space.

Eoin Morgan's team will now face Delhi Capitals in Qualifier 2 on Wednesday, for a place in the final.

KKR Knock Virat Kohli's RCB Out of IPL 2021, Will Play Delhi For Spot in Final

Narine Spun His Magic Around RCB Batters

Earlier, Sunil Narine (4/21) and Lockie Ferguson (2/30) dominated in restricting Royal Challengers Bangalore to a below-par 138/7.

Opting to bat first, Bangalore had a quick start, scoring 53/1 in the powerplay. Virat Kohli got going with a sweep off Shakib Al Hasan before slamming Shivam Mavi for back-to-back fours in the next over. Devdutt Padikkal took two boundaries off Lockie Ferguson in the fourth over but the New Zealander had the last laugh in his second over as Padikkal chopped one into his stumps.

<div class="paragraphs"><p>Devdutt Padikkal bowled out during the Eliminator against Kolkata Knight Riders.</p></div>

Devdutt Padikkal bowled out during the Eliminator against Kolkata Knight Riders.

(Photo: BCCI/IPL)

After the powerplay, Kolkata squeezed RCB's the run flow as 17 runs came off the next four overs, including KS Bharat's wicket as he holed out to long-off off Sunil Narine.

That began a batting slide for Bangalore as three overs later, Narine had his second wicket of the match with Kohli setting himself for a slog-sweep, only to be bowled through the gate.

Narine struck for his third wicket in the 15th over, getting the ball to just turn in and slip between bat and pad to disturb the stumps of AB de Villiers. In his final over, Narine claimed his fourth wicket as Glenn Maxwell sliced a slog-sweep to short third man.

Shahbaz Ahmed and Daniel Christian fell in the last two overs as Bangalore eventually managed to post 138/7.

KKR's Chase

Chasing 139, Shubman Gill started off with a flick through square leg off Mohammed Siraj. In the next over, Venkatesh Iyer joined the party, pulling George Garton over backward square leg. Gill then tore into Garton in the third over with a hat-trick of boundaries. Harshal Patel, introduced in the final over of powerplay, made the first strike for Bangalore as Gill was foxed by an off-cutter and holed to mid-on moving to his right.

Post the powerplay, Kolkata lost another wicket as Rahul Tripathi was struck plumb on the front pad by a Yuzvendra Chahal googly. Nitish Rana broke the shackles with reverse hits going for a six and four each off Glenn Maxwell in the tenth over, which also saw a running Shahbaz Ahmed spilling a catch of Iyer. But in the next over, Patel took out Iyer, gloving behind to keeper KS Bharat.

Sunil Narine's promotion to five paid off as he slammed three sixes off Daniel Christian over fine leg, square leg and long-off in the 12th over to simplify the equation. Chahal had his second wicket of the match in the 15th over as Nitish Rana mistimed slog-sweep to long-on. Narine had luck on his side as Devdutt Padikkal dropped the catch off Harshal Patel in the 17th over.

In the next over, Mohammed Siraj dismissed both Narine and Dinesh Karthik. With seven needed off the final over, Shakib Al Hasan walked across for a scoop over short fine leg off Christian before finishing off the chase with a quick single.


(With inputs from IANS)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!