IPL 2024: Full List of Players Ruled Out Due to Injuries, and Their Replacements

IPL 2024 | Check out the list of injured players and their replacements for the 17th IPL season

4 min read
Hindi Female

Season 17 of the Indian Premier League has got off to an exciting start, with the first couple of weeks producing many thrilling encounters, some of which broke records aplenty.

In this article, we will take a look at the full list of injured players and their replacements for IPL 2024:

IPL 2024 | Check out the list of injured players and their replacements for the 17th IPL season

IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings' Kiwi opener, Devon Conway had to undergo surgery after injuring his thumb.

(Photo: BCCI)

Devon Conway

Chennai Super Kings; star opener Devon Conway, who played a major role in their victory last year also earned the title of the Player of the Match in the final game against Gujarat Titans, will not be available for a major part of the ongoing season. He recently had a thumb surgery and has been ruled out of action for eight weeks. Thus, he won’t be returning anytime before the beginning of May. 

A replacement for Conway has not been announced yet by the team. With Rachin Ravindra doing a decent job, it is expected that Chennai will wait for Conway to be available, and perhaps, play a part in the playoffs if Chennai qualify.


Lungi Ngidi

Lungi Ngidi, who was picked at his base price of Rs 50 Lakhs by Delhi Capitals, will also stay out of action in IPL 2024 as he has not recovered from the lower back injury he acquired during the SA20 match for Paarl Royals.

The Capitals have signed Australian cricketer Jake Fraser-McGurk as Ngidi’s replacement.

Harry Brook

IPL 2024 | Check out the list of injured players and their replacements for the 17th IPL season

England's Harry Brook has pulled out of IP 2024 citing personal reasons.

(Photo: PTI)

English batter Harry Brook opted out of IPL 2024 citing personal reasons, following the demise of his paternal grandmother, Pauline. He was acquired by the Capitals for Rs 4 crore.

As Brook's replacement, the Capitals have signed South African pacer Lizaad Williams.


Dilshan Madushanka

The Sri Lankan pacer suffered an injury during Sri Lanka’s recent T20I series against Bangladesh and hence, will be missing out on a few of the starting matches of IPL 2024.

Madushanka was replaced with young South African pacer Kwena Maphaka, who has not had the best of starts to his IPL career.


Jason Behrendroff

Australian pacer Jason Behrendroff has been ruled out of IPL 2024 due to a leg injury, which he sustained whilst training in Perth before leaving for India.

Mumbai Indians signed English left-arm fast bowler Luke Wood for Rs 50 lakhs as Behrendroff’s replacement.

IPL 2024 | Check out the list of injured players and their replacements for the 17th IPL season

Australian pacer Jason Behrendorff has bowed out of IPL 2024 due to a leg injury.

(Photo: PTI)

Mohammed Shami

Mohammed Shami has been out of action ever since the end of the ICC World Cup 2023's final match between India and Australia. He recently had ankle surgery in London recently. Currently on his rehabilitation journey, BCCI informed that he will not be available till the Bangladesh series, scheduled for August. Hence, Shami will be missing the entire IPL 2024.

Gujarat Titans have signed former Kolkata Knight Riders pacer Sandeep Warrier as Shami's replacement.


Robin Minz

Acquired by Gujarat Titans for Rs 3.40 crore in the auction, Robin Minz is the first tribal player to earn an IPL contract. However, the youngster could not to showcase his talent in IPL 2024, as he had a bike accident in Ranchi just before the start of the competition.

Gujarat Titans signed Karnataka wicketkeeper-batter BR Sharath for Rs 20 lakh as Minz's replacement.

Prasidh Krishna

IPL 2024 | Check out the list of injured players and their replacements for the 17th IPL season

Prasidh Krishna has been ruled out of IPL 2023.

Image: BCCI

Prasidh Krishna, who missed the entire 2023 season as well owing to injury-related issued, had a surgery after sustaining a left proximal quadriceps tendon injury.

Rajasthan Royals signed South African spinner Keshav Maharaj for Rs 50 lakh as Krishna's replacement.


Jason Roy

Citing personal reasons, Jason Roy opted out of IPL 2024 and will not be representing Kolkata Knight Riders this year. This is not the first time he has opted out of the tournament as earlier, while playing for Delhi Capitals in 2020, he had backed off citing personal reasons. In 2022, he took an 'indefinite break' from the game.

English wicketkeeper-batter Phil Salt has replaced Roy in the KKR squad.

Gus Atkinson

English pacer Gus Atkinson opted out of his maiden IPL season, following England and Wales Cricket Board's (ECB) decision to manage his workload. 

Sri Lankan pacer Dushmantha Chameera has replaced Atkinson in the KKR squad. 

Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Another Kolkata Knight Riders player, Mujeeb Ur Rahman was ruled out of the entire season due to an injury.

He was replaced by fellow Afghan spinner, Allah Ghazanfar.


Adam Zampa

Having played a bit-part role in the Rajasthan Royals team in IPL 2023, Australian spinner Adam Zampa opted out of the ongoing edition due to personal reasons.

As his replacement, the Royals signed Mumbai all-rounder Tanush Kotian for Rs 20 lakh.

Mark Wood

Mark Wood was ruled out of the competition a month before it began. As his replacement, Lucknow Super Giants signed West Indies' pacer Shamar Joseph for Rs 3 crore, following his brilliance in the Gabbatoir breach.

David Willey

David Willey is another English cricketer who opted out of the IPL citing personal reasons. In his place, the KL Rahul-led franchise signed New Zealand pacer Matt Henry, who has previously played for Chennai Super Kings and Punjab Kings.

Shivam Mavi

Signed for Rs 6.40 crore, Shivam Mavi could not take any part in the 2024 IPL, as a rib stress fracture ruled him out of the season. Lucknow Super Giants are yet to name his replacement.

Wanindu Hasaranga

Wanindu Hasaranga was signed by Rs 1.50 crore by Sunrisers Hyderabad, but troubles with his left heel meant he could not even arrive in India.

Sunrisers Hyderabad have announced fellow Sri Lankan spinner Vijayakanth Viyaskanth as his replacement.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More