Toss: Punjab Elect to Field vs KKR, Mayank Agarwal Returns

Chris Gayle pulled out of IPL 2021 due to bubble fatigue.

2 min read
<div class="paragraphs"><p>Punjab Kings are playing KKR in the IPL 2021 match.</p></div>

Punjab Kings have won the toss and elected to bat first against Kolkata Knight Riders in Friday's IPL 2021 match in Dubai.


"Tricky to bat first here maybe. You don't know if 150 will be good or 180. So better to ask the opposition to set that up. Our bowlers have done well in all three games. Batting hasn't fired as well, but the opportunity to score big runs today. Hopefully, we don't have to score big runs by restricting them," Punjab skipper Rahul said about his decision to field first.

KKR skipper Eoin Morgan was not that unhappy being asked to bat first as he said he felt the Dubai pitch has been more consistent than those at other venues.

"Results on this ground haven't been dictated by the toss. In the second phase teams that have played well have got the result. It is a used wicket today but doesn't necessarily look that bad. Should be a good cricket wicket," he said.

Punjab Kings made three changes to their squad. With Chris Gayle leaving the bubble, Fabian Allen comes in his place while experienced opener Mayank Agarwal has recovered from the niggle and replaces Mandeep Singh. PKBS also brought in Shahrukh Khan for Harpreet Brar.

Toss: Punjab Elect to Field vs KKR, Mayank Agarwal Returns
Arjun Singh

KKR made two changes to their squad. Tim Seifert makes his debut, replacing Lockie Ferguson while Shivam Mavi comes in for Sandeep Warrier. Morgan said Ferguson and Andre Russell, both with injuries, are being monitored day by day. "They have to rehab extremely well in order to be fit."

Playing XIs

Punjab Kings: KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran, Shahrukh Khan, Deepak Hooda, Fabian Allen, Nathan Ellis, Mohammed Shami, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan, Dinesh Karthik, Tim Seifert, Sunil Narine, Shivam Mavi, Tim Southee, Varun Chakravarthy.


(With inputs from IANS)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!