Shah Rukh, Madhuri Dixit, Anil Kapoor Among New Academy Members

SRK, Madhuri Dixit, Anil Kapoor, Tabu among the new members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Updated26 Jun 2018, 02:53 AM IST
Indian Cinema
1 min read

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has issued a list of new members and it features a good numbers of Indian film artistes. The Academy shared a tweet along with a video message by filmmaker Steven Spielberg which stated: “Our new member list is officially out! And Directors Branch governor Steven Spielberg has a message for all those invited to join.”

And here’s what Spielberg said in the video after introducing himself: “...and to the class of 2018, from a member of the class of 1977, welcome all to the Academy!”

Names from the Indian film industry such as Soumitra Chatterjee, Shah Rukh Khan, Madhuri Dixit, Anil Kapoor, Naseeruddin Shah, Aditya Chopra, Ali Fazal and Manish Malhotra among others feature in the new members list.

Ali Fazal was quick to convey his thanks to the Academy for inviting him to join the ranks. Watch Ali’s video message below:

Members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences get to vote for the Oscar nominations every year.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Published: 26 Jun 2018, 02:52 AM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!