Jaya Bachchan, Riteish Congratulate New Maha CM Uddhav Thackeray 

Uddhav Thackeray, was sworn in as the 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra on 28 November.

1 min read
Jaya Bachchan and Riteish Deshmukh congratulated Uddhav Thackeray on becoming Maharashtra CM.

Samajwadi Party MP Jaya Bachchan offered her congratulations to Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, who was sworn in as the 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra at an oath-taking ceremony at Shivaji Park in Dadar, Mumbai. Uddhav is the first Thackeray to ever hold an administrative post in the state. Shiv Sena leaders Eknath Shinde and Subhash Desai, NCP’s Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal, and Congress leaders Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut also took oath as ministers, officially marking the beginning of the term of the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance, or Maha Vikas Aghadi, in the state.

“The Thackeray family and we share a deep and old relationship. My heartiest congratulations to him (Uddhav Thackeray) on becoming Chief Minister. I sincerely hope he works towards the betterment of Maharashtra, provides relief to farmers and gives youth employment,” she said in a statement to ANI.

Actor Riteish Deshmukh, son of former Maharashtra CM Vilasrao Deshmukh, also took to Twitter to offer his wishes to Uddhav Thackeray, Aaditya Thackeray, the NCP’s Jayant Patil and Congress leader Balasaheb Thorat.

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!