Watch: For B’Day Boy Aamir Khan, It’s Fans Over Awards

Happy Birthday Mr. Perfectionist aka Aamir Khan!

2 min read

With a career spanning over 30 years, Aamir Khan has established himself as one of the most bankable stars of Indian cinema. Hailed as Mr. Perfectionist, he is almost the Daniel Day-Lewis equivalent of Bollywood, shapeshifting with every role.

Last year, Dangal didn’t just earn the big bucks in India but also became the most successful non-Hollywood film in China. It even overtook the Chinese action-adventure drama, Till the End of the World, and Maze Runner: The Death Cure. And now, Secret Superstar has taken China by storm. Crowned, the Secret Superstar of China’s box office, he never really fails to belt out the highest grossing films of Bollywood.

He changed the box office game of Bollywood but boycotted the award shows.

It’s no secret that Aamir Khan has adhered to the ‘No Award Show’ policy for over a decade. He continued to be nominated but here’s a look at how he fared at the award shows, despite his absence. He won the awards for Dangal and Lagaan but we take stock of how many times he was toppled. But for this versatile Khan, it's fans over trophies.

Year: 1989. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak. Winner: Anil Kapoor, Tezaab

Year: 1993. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikander. Winner: Anil Kapoor, Beta

Year: 1994. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Hum Hain Rahi Pyar Ke. Winner: Shah Rukh Khan, Baazigar

Year: 1995. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Andaz Apna Apna. Winner: Nana Patekar, Krantiveer

Year: 1996. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Rangeela. Winner: SRK - Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge

Year: 1999. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Ghulam. Winner: SRK, Kuch Kuch Hota Hai

Year: 2000. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Sarfarosh. Winner: Sanjay Dutt, Vaastav

Year: 2007. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Rang De Basanti. Winner: Hrithik - Dhoom 2

Year: 2009. Nomination: Aamir Khan, Ghajini. Winner: Hrithik Roshan, Jodha Akbar

Year: 2010. Nomination: Aamir Khan, 3 Idiots. Winner: Amitabh Bachchan, Paa

Year: 2015. Nomination: Aamir Khan, PK. Winner: Shahid Kapur, Haider

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
Read More