Modi, Rahul Congratulate Jagan Mohan Reddy on Becoming Andhra CM

The YSR Congress bagged 151 of the 175 seats in the Assembly, decimating the TDP headed by Chandrababu Naidu.

2 min read

YSR Congress chief Yeduguri Sandinti Jagan Mohan Reddy was on Thursday, 30 May, sworn in as the second Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh after its bifurcation and both, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress President Rahul Gandhi shared their congratulatory wishes.

PM Modi highlighted full cooperation from the Centre for the development of the state in his tweet.

Meanwhile, Congress President Rahul Gandhi also congratulated Reddy on being sworn in as chief minister of Andhra Pradesh.

Governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy at 12:23 pm in a grand public function at the IGMC Stadium in Vijayawada, to the 46-year-old leader who led his party to a resounding victory in the recent Assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

The YSR Congress bagged 151 of the 175 seats in the Assembly, decimating the Telugu Desam Party headed by N Chandrababu Naidu, who became the first chief minister of the state after it was bifurcated to carve out Telangana five years ago.

YSRC won 22 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats.

‘5,000 Police Personnel Deployed for Swearing-In’

Elaborate security arrangements, with about 5,000 police personnel in deployment, were made in Vijayawada city for the swearing-in ceremony, Commissioner of Police Ch Dwaraka, Tirumala Rao, told news agency PTI.

While the stadium could hold about 30,000 people, LED screens were being arranged across the city for people to witness the event, he reportedly said.

Reddy alone will take oath on Thursday while his Council of Ministers is likely to be constituted on 7 June, PTI had reported on Wednesday, citing party sources.

For the first time, special arrangements were made at the Andhra Pradesh Bhavan in New Delhi for live streaming of the swearing-in ceremony.

Ambassadors of various countries, representatives from unilateral and multi-lateral agencies, international donor agencies, industry associations, multinational corporations and international media were invited to witness the event at the AP Bhavan, Resident Commissioner Praveen Prakash told PTI.

KCR, Stalin Among Dignitaries Invited for the Swearing-In

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao and DMK President MK Stalin were among the dignitaries invited for the swearing-in ceremony. Former Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, N Chandrababu Naidu, was also invited, but he reportedly stayed away from the event.

Reddy had also reportedly invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi when he met him on Sunday.

Reddy had also invited Jana Sena president Pawan Kalyan, Telugu film star K Chiranjeevi and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar for the swearing-in.

CPI and CPI(M) national general secretaries Suravaram Sudhakar Reddy and Sitaram Yechuri respectively, state BJP president Kanna Lakshminarayana and a host of other leaders were among the invitees.

(With inputs from PTI)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!