Join Us On:

UP Elections 2022: Police Lathicharge RLD Supporters Outside Counting Centre

They created a furore after RLD leader Jaiveer Tomar lost to the incumbent BJP candidate Krishna Pal Malik.


The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

While the counting of votes for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly election 2022 was underway on Thursday, 10 March, the police lathi-charged Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) supporters outside a counting centre in the Baraut constituency situated in Baghpat.

The supporters had allegedly created a furor after RLD leader Jaiveer Tomar lost to the incumbent BJP candidate Krishna Pal Malik by a slender margin of around 320 votes.

The RLD candidate had been leading over his rival throughout the day, leading supporters to believe that he would be the victor from the seat. However, when Malik was declared the winner, supporters got enraged and alleged fraud in the counting process.

The Samajwadi Party (SP) and the RLD had joined hands to take on the incumbent BJP in the 2022 UP Assembly election.

As per the latest figures, the BJP is poised to retain power and form the government in UP, having won 255 seats so far. The SP, on the other hand, has won 111 seats, 47 more than its 2017 tally. The RLD has won only eight seats in the election.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read Latest News and Breaking News at The Quint, browse for more from elections and uttar-pradesh-election

Topics:  BJP   Rashtriya Lok Dal 

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More