In a Historic Feat, PM Narendra Modi Returns For the 3rd Term; 71 Ministers Sworn-In

PM Narendra Modi swearing-in: The oath of office was administered by President Droupadi Murmu.

12 min read
Hindi Female

PM Modi Oath-Taking Ceremony Live Updates: The oath-taking ceremony took place at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Sunday 9 June. PM Modi took an oath for a third consecutive term, only the second PM after Jawaharlal Nehru to do so. The oath of office was administered by President Droupadi Murmu at the Bhavan's Forecourt.

The new Cabinet includes 30 Cabinet ministers, five Ministers of State with Independent Charge and 36 Ministers of State.

The ministers who took oath as cabinet ministers with PM Modi are:

  • Rajnath Singh (BJP)

  • Amit Shah (BJP)

  • Nitin Gadkari (BJP)

  • JP Nadda (BJP)

  • Shivraj Singh Chouhan (BJP)

  • Nirmala Sitharaman (BJP)

  • S Jaishankar (BJP)

  • Manohar Lal Khattar (BJP)

  • HD Kumaraswamy (Janata Dal-Secular)

  • Piyush Goyal (BJP)

  • Dharmendra Pradhan (BJP)

  • Jitan Ram Manjhi (Hindustani Awam Morcha)

  • Rajiv Ranjan Singh (Janata Dal-United)

  • Sarbananda Sonowal (BJP)

  • Virendra Kumar (BJP)

  • Ram Mohan Naidu (Telugu Desam Party)

  • Pralhad Joshi (BJP)

  • Jual Oram (BJP)

  • Giriraj Singh (BJP)

  • Ashwini Vaishnaw (BJP)

  • Jyotiraditya Scindia (BJP)

  • Bhupender Yadav (BJP)

  • Gajendra Singh Shekhawat (BJP)

  • Annapurna Devi (BJP)

  • Kiren Rijiju (BJP)

  • Hardeep Singh Puri (BJP)

  • Mansukh Mandaviya (BJP)

  • G Kishan Reddy (BJP)

  • Chirag Paswan (Lok Janshakti Party-Ram Vilas)

  • CR Paatil (BJP)

PM Narendra Modi swearing-in: The oath of office was administered by President Droupadi Murmu.

Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah also took oath along with Modi.

(Photo: PTI)

PM Narendra Modi swearing-in: The oath of office was administered by President Droupadi Murmu.

Rajnath Singh, JP Nadda, Nirmala Sitharaman, S Jaishankar and Nitin Gadkari, Manohar Lal, JDS Chief HD Kumaraswamy, others taking oath as ministers.

(Photo: PTI/Atul Yatav)

  • So far, only 7 women have taken oath as ministers: Nirmala Sitharaman, Annapurna Devi, Anupriya Patel, Raksha Khadse among others.

  • The cabinet till now has 27 ministers from OBC, 10 from Scheduled Castes, 5 from Scheduled Tribes and 5 from minorities, Hindustan Times stated.

  • NCP is the first NDA ally likely to not get a cabinet post. Maharashtra Deputy CM Devendra Fadnavis said that Praful Patel was offered an MoS post but he has declined the same.

  • Earlier on Sunday, Modi interacted with all MPs who are most likely to be part of the Council of ministers in the new government. They were all seen at the PM’s residence in New Delhi for a customary tea programme in the afternoon.

  • The oath-taking ceremony is being attended by several world leaders, including Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Bhutanese Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay, Nepali Prime Minister Pushpa Kumar Dahal 'Prachanda', and Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

10:37 PM , 09 Jun

'Trust of Public Is In Modi': Jyotiraditya Scindia

Union Minister and BJP leader Jyotiraditya Scindia arrived at the residence of Union Minister and BJP leader JP Nadda, after the conclusion of the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

He said, as ANI reports, "The trust of the public is in PM Modi and today in the third term under the leadership of PM Modi the country will touch the new heights of success."

10:27 PM , 09 Jun

'As NDA's Ministers Sworn-In, A Terrorist Attack Has Taken Place': Kharge

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge who attended the ceremony, posted on X, "Even while PM, Shri Narendra Modi and his NDA Govt get sworn in and heads of several countries are in the country, a dastardly terrorist attack on a bus carrying pilgrims has resulted in loss of lives of at least 10 Indians.."

10:20 PM , 09 Jun

'NDA Only Alliance to Get Majority For 3rd Time': Bansuri Swaraj

On PM Narendra Modi becoming the Prime Minister for the third time, BJP MP Bansuri Swaraj said, "It is the mandate of the people of India. In the last 60 years, NDA has been the only alliance to get the majority for the third time. I thank all the people of India."

10:06 PM , 09 Jun

Out of 41, Only 6 NDA-Ally Ministers of State

Out of the 41 Ministers of State, six are from NDA-ally parties such as:

  1. Pratap Rao Jadhav (Shiv Sena)

  2. Jayant Chaudhary (Rashtriya Lok Dal)

  3. Ram Das Athawale (Republic Party of India-Athawale)

  4. Ramnath Thakur (Janata Dal-United)

  5. Anupriya Patel (Apna Dal Party)

  6. Dr Chandra Shekhar Pemmasani (Telugu Desam Party)


Published: 09 Jun 2024, 7:58 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More