Assembly Bypolls: 77% Final Voter Turnout in TN, 75% in Panaji

Voting in 11 seats across four states is being held.

4 min read
Bypolls were held for the Panaji Assembly seat in Goa, four Assembly seats in West Bengal, four Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu, and two Assembly seats in Karnataka.

Voting concluded in Panaji (Goa) and four Tamil Nadu Assembly seats that went for by-elections on Sunday, 19 May. Bypolls took place for four Assembly seats in West Bengal and two Assembly seats in Karnataka.

Meanwhile, the final voter turnout was at 75.28 percent in Panaji and 77 percent in Tamil Nadu. In Tamil Nadu the constituencies that polled on Sunday are Sulur, Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram and Thiruparankundram.

Moreover, Bhatpara, Darjeeling, Habibpur and Islampur seats in West Bengal along with Chincholi and Kundgol in Karnataka went to polls on 19 May.

  • 11 seats in four states went for bypolls
  • Four seats each in West Bengal and Tamil Nadu, two in Karnataka and one in Goa are up for grabs
    Voting concluded in Goa and Tamil Nadu
  • The seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections concluded on Sunday, 19 May

(Click here for the latest updates on last phase of voting.)

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

1:07 PM, 18 May

Stage Set for High Stakes Bypoll to 4 Constituencies in TN

Polling for the high stakes by-election to four constituencies in Tamil Nadu are underway.

While the bypolls to 18 seats were held along with Lok Sabha polls on 18 April in the state, four other Assembly segments – Sulur, Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram (SC) and Thiruparankundram – go to polls on 19 May.

The Sulur seat fell vacant in March following the death of AIADMK MLA R Kanakaraj, who died of a heart attack.

Ottapidaram (SC) constituency is represented by disqualified AIADMK MLA Sundararaj while Thirupparankundram legislator AK Bose also belonging to AIADMK died last year.

Aravakurichi is represented by Senthil Balaji, a disqualified AIADMK legislator who has joined DMK.

1:10 PM, 18 May

BJP, Cong Both Confident of Winning Panaji Bypoll

Both Congress and the BJP have expressed confidence at winning the Panaji bypoll. The bypoll was necessitated by the death of the late chief minister, Manohar Parrikar.

1:12 PM, 18 May

Bypolls Hold the Key For JD(S)-Cong in Karnataka

Both the seats going to bypolls – Chincholi and Kundgol – were held by the Congress previously. If the results go in the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) favour, their strength in the Assembly would increase from 104 to 106; only seven short of the number needed to form the government.

2:49 AM, 19 May

Visuals From TN's Sulur Assembly Consitutency

Voting underway for by-election to the Sulur assembly constituency.

 Assembly Bypolls: 77% Final Voter Turnout in TN, 75% in Panaji

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!