LS Elections Phase 4: 10.2% Polling in J&K’s Kulgam Amid Clashes

Over 3.45 lakh electors were supposed to exercise their franchise in the district spread.

2 min read
According to officials, 10.2 per cent overall polling was recorded in Kulgam district.

Clashes marred the second leg of three-phased schedule for Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency in Kulgam on Monday, 29 April. The district observed a complete shutdown in wake of the polling.

A low voter turnout, barring Noorabad Assembly segment, was witnessed in Kulgam. Most polling booths remained deserted in different parts of Kulgam while there was brisk polling at Noorabad and Devsar segments.

Noorabad Assembly segment recorded the highest turnout and the overall percentage in the Kulgam district was recorded 10.2 percent. As many as 15,663 (20.5 percent) people cast the vote in Noorabad, 15,160 (16.6 percent) in Devsar, Kulgam 1684 (1.7 percent) and Homeshalibugh  891 (1.1 percent), till 4:00 pm.

According to officials, 10.2 per cent overall polling was recorded in Kulgam district.

Over 3.45 lakh electors were supposed to vote in the district spread over four Assembly segments comprising Noorabad, Kulgam, Homeshalibugh and Devsar.

The South Kashmir district has 345,486 electors including 179,607 males, 164,604 females, 1262 service electors (1254 male and 08 female) and 13 transgender voters. For smooth polling, the ECI had set up 433 polling stations across the district.

The candidates in the fray are Hasnain Masoodi of Jammu Kashmir National Conference, Sofi Yousuf of Bhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir People’s Democratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu and Kashmir National Panthers Party, Choudhary Zaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People’s Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Ghulam Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents.

Kulgam Assembly segment has the highest number of 98,298 voters (51,051 males, 46,818 females, 455 service voters and four transgender voters) while as Noorabad has the lowest 77,171 electors, including 40,093 males, 36,886 females, 188 service voters and four transgender voters.

Assembly segment of Devsar has 91288 voters (47467 males, 43324 females, 492 service voters and five transgender voters), and HS Bugh segment has 78669 voters (40996 males, 37576 females and 127 service voters).

Anantnag district of Anantnag PC went to polls in the third phase on 23 April.

The parliamentary constituency is spreading over four districts comprising Anantnag, Kulgam, Shopian and Pulwama.

Clashes erupted in different parts of the district, including Qaimoh, Khudwani, Kujjar, Bugam, Tarigam and other areas. At least four youth suffered pellet injuries at Kujjar after government forces lobbed tear-smoke shells and showered pellets on the protesters.

  • Man injured in the clashes.
  • Man injured in the clashes.

The protesting youth were enforcing boycott when forces tried to stop them. They hurled stones while in retaliation forces resorted to shelling used pellets to dissipate them. Four youth received pellets and were shifted to SMHS Hospital for advanced treatment. They were identified as Khaleef Bashir of Monghal, Waseem Ahmed, Zahid Ahmed and Shakir Ahmed, all residents of Kujjar Kulgam.

Forces also resorted to tear-smoke shelling in other parts to disperse stone-throwing youth. A police official said that barring few stray incidents of stone-pelting, the day passed off peacefully.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!