Cong MLA Resigns From Party in Goa, Refuses to Comment on Rahul

Twenty-two MLAs pledged their support to Manohar Parrikar.

Goa Election
4 min read
Hindi Female
  • 22 MLAs pledged their support to the Manohar Parrikar-led BJP government
  • Goa holds swearing-in for MLAs
  • Rahul Gandhi accuses BJP of ‘stealing’ governments in Manipur, Goa
  • Congress MLA Vishwajit Rane resigns from party
5:11 PM , 16 Mar

Congress MLA Submits Resignation

On Thursday afternoon, Congress MLA Vishwajit Rane resigned from the party as well as MLA.

With a heavy heart, I have submitted my resignation as member of Congress party today. It makes me sad.

Speaking on his resignation from the party, Rane added:

Leaders like me will start leaving Congress all over country because people who come as observers are unable to assess the situation.

When asked about Rahul Gandhi, he said he has no comments.

I have not got any reply from him (Rahul Gandhi), I have no hopes for the same. I don’t want to comment on him.

This development comes after Rane walked out of the state Assembly before the floor test earlier in the day.

12:44 PM , 16 Mar

We Won, No MLAs Were Kept in Hotels: Parrikar

“Digvijaya’s claims that they (Congress) have numbers have been debunked,” Parrikar said.

The Speaker made us stand up. So it was clear that we had the support of 22 MLAs to those watching the national television. No MLAs were kept in hotels... This happens when you come to Goa only to enjoy yourself. Right from the beginning they didn’t have numbers. On 22nd we’ll hold Speaker’s selection, on 24th we’ll present the budget. 
Manohar Parrikar, Chief Minister of Goa
12:28 PM , 16 Mar

BJP Wins Floor Test

22 MLAs pledged their support to Manohar Parrikar-led BJP in Goa assembly. Among them are 13 BJP MLAs, three MLAs from Goa Forward Party, three MLAs from MGP and three Independent candidates.

The Congress, which bagged 17 seats in the Goa Assembly, fell short of four seats. Following a rift within the Congress, Vishwajit Rane accused the Congress leaders of being sluggish and failing to form a majority despite winning a larger share of seats in the election. He walked out of the Assembly after Congress lost the floor test.

The Assembly Elections in Goa threw up a hung assembly, with the Congress emerging the largest party with 17 seats. The BJP won 13, while the GFP, the MGP and Independent candidates won three seats each. The NCP won one, while the AAP walked away empty handed.

In a setback to opposition, the SC refused to stay the swearing in of BJP leader Manohar Parrikar as the chief minister of Goa and ordered a floor test on 16 March. Parrikar was sworn-in as Goa CM on 14 March.

12:08 PM , 16 Mar

BJP 'Stole' Governments in Manipur, Goa: Rahul

Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi has accused the BJP of forming government through dishonest means. He said:

Congress won in Manipur and Goa. BJP used monetary means to steal governments in those states.

Published: 16 Mar 2017, 8:03 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More