DMK Names Kanimozhi, Former Ministers Maran Among LS Candidates

Stalin’s sister and Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi will for the first time try her luck in the Lok Sabha polls.

2 min read
DMK chief MK Stalin.

DMK on Sunday, 17 March, announced former union ministers Dayanidhi Maran, A Raja and T R Baalu and its Rajya Sabha member Kanimozhi among its candidates for the 20 Lok Sabha constituencies it is contesting in Tamil Nadu.

Releasing the list of candidates which included another woman, party president M K Stalin said Maran will contest from Central Chennai, A Raja from Nilgiris (SC) and T R Baalu from Sriperumbudur constituencies, which they had won in 2009.

Stalin's sister and Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi will for the first time try her luck in the Lok Sabha polls as she had been fielded in Tuticorin constituency in southern Tamil Nadu.

A total of 12 candidates are new faces.


In the 18 April elections, DMK is contesting 20 out of the 39 Lok Sabha seats in the state, leaving the rest to its allies, including Congress.

The party had drawn a blank in the 2014 polls when it contested 34 seats while its arch rival AIADMK romped home winning 37 segments. Congress had gone alone but failed to win a single seat.

Replying to questions from reporters, Stalin said DMK's manifesto will be released soon.

It would be both the "hero and heroine and definitely not a villain," he added.

DMK also named its candidates for bypolls to the 18 assembly constituencies in the state to be held along with the Lok Sabha polls on 18 April.

Former union ministers of state S Jagathrakshagan and S S Palanimanickam have been fielded in Arakkonam and Thanjavur constituencies.

Kanimozhi's Rajya Sabha terms ends in July this year.

T Sumathi alias Tamizhachi Thangapandian, a noted orator in Tamil, will contest from Chennai South, Kalanidhi Veerasamy from Chennai North and D M Kathir Anand, son of party Treasurer Duraimurugan, from Vellore.

While Tamizhachi is the daughter of late DMK leader V Thangapandian and sister of former state Minister Thangam Thennarasu, Kalanidhi is the son of fomer state Minister Arcot N Veerasamy.

Similarly, in Kallakurichi, former State Minister K Ponmudi's son Gowtham Sigamani is fielded.

Other candidates are: G Selvam (Kancheepuram-SC), S Senthilkumar (Dharmapuri), C N Annadurai (Tiruvannamalai), S R Parthiban (Salem), K Shanmugasundaram (Pollachi), P Velusamy (Dindigul), T R V S Sriramesh (Cuddalore), S Ramalingam (Mayiladuthurai), Dhanush M Kumar (Thenkasi-SC), and S Gnanathiraviam (Tirunelveli).

Parthiban was a former DMDK MLA (2011-16) and represented Mettur constituency in Salem district.

He had quit the Vijayakanth-led party to form the Makakl DMDK and later joined the DMK.

Stalin released the list of candidates after visiting the mausoleum of his late father and party patriarch M Karunanidhi at the Marina beach here.

He placed the list on the floor and paid floral tributes, symbolising seeking the late leader's blessings.

Stalin also named his party candidate for the bypoll to an assembly seat (Thattanchavadi) in neighbouring Puducherry.

(This story was auto-published from a syndicated feed. No part of the story has been edited by The Quint.)

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

We'll get through this! Meanwhile, here's all you need to know about the Coronavirus outbreak to keep yourself safe, informed, and updated.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!