Sonia, Rahul Gandhi to Attend Modi’s Oath-Taking Ceremony as PM

Sources in the government indicate that major changes can be expected in the next Cabinet. 

15 min read
Hindi Female

Both UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi would be attending Narendra Modi’s oath-taking ceremony as prime minister scheduled for Thursday, 30 May.

Meanwhile, West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee said on Wednesday that she has been “compelled not to attend” Modi’s swearing-in, adding that the ceremony should not be used as an “opportunity to score political points.”

In her statement, the TMC supremo alluded to media reports where the BJP is “claiming 54 people have been murdered in political violence in Bengal” and called it “completely untrue”. “There have been no political murders in Bengal,” she said.

According to sources cited by PTI, all chief ministers, governors and leaders of all opposition parties have been invited for Modi’s swearing-in ceremony.

President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the Oath of Office and Secrecy to Modi and other members of the Union Council of Ministers on 30 May at 7 pm at Rashtrapati Bhavan in Delhi.

  • Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal and Telangana CM K Chandrashekar Rao will be attending the ceremony
  • However, Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan will not attend Modi’s swearing-in, the chief minister’s office said
  • The Modi-led government is likely to present the full budget for the financial year 2019-2020 on 10 July
10:05 PM , 29 May

Naveen Patnaik Not to Attend Modi's Swearing-In Ceremony

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will not attend the swearing-in ceremony of PM Narendra Modi on Thursday.

“The newly elected members of the 16th Vidhan Sabha (Assembly) will take oath tomorrow. As leader of the House, the chief minister will be present during the occasion. So, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will not be able to visit Delhi tomorrow to attend the swearing-in ceremony of the prime minister and his council of ministers,” an official communication issued by the Chief Minister's Office said on Wednesday

6:56 PM , 29 May

Rahul Gandhi to Also Attend Modi's Swearing-In

Along with Sonia Gandhi, Congress President Rahul Gandhi will also be attending Narendra Modi’s oath-taking ceremony as PM on Thursday.

5:45 PM , 29 May

Sonia Gandhi to Attend Modi's Oath-Taking Ceremony

UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi would be attending Modi’s oath-taking ceremony as prime minister on Thursday, reported NDTV.

4:36 PM , 29 May

Govt Offices to Be Closed Early For Modi's Swearing-In

The government offices located in Delhi’s North Block, South Block, Rail Bhawan, Vayu Bhawan, Sena Bhawan and DRDO would be closed at 2 pm on Thursday in connection with the swearing-in ceremony of Narendra Modi as PM.


Published: 24 May 2019, 8:48 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More