NDA Crosses Majority Mark to Win Bihar, Nitish to Return as CM 

Catch all the live updates on the Bihar Assembly election results here.

13 min read
Bihar Election Result 2020 Live Updates

The JD(U)-led NDA on Tuesday, 10 November, returned to power after winning more than 122 seats, securing a fourth term for Nitish Kumar as the chief minister of the state.

Meanwhile, Chirag Paswan’s LJP has finally managed to secure one seat in the state.

Earlier, PM Modi and Amit Shah thanked people of Bihar for ‘choosing development, progress’ , even as counting of votes was underway in over 50 seats

  • RJD has cast aspersions on the Election Commission officials’ conduct
    The Election Commission has said that final results cannot be ascertained until late evening
  • For the first time in the history of Bihar, the BJP is emerging as the single-largest party
  • RJD’s CM candidate Tejashwi Yadav is leading from Raghopur
  • Tej Pratap is leading from Hasanpur constituency
  • Former CM Jitan Ram Manjhi is trailing from Imamganj seat
9:51 PM , 09 Nov

Bihar Election Result LIVE: Counting Stations Increased for Social Distancing

In order to maintain social distance amid the COVID-19 pandemic, the number of counting stations have been increased, reported Hindustan Times (HT).

Bihar’s Chief Election Commissioner HR Srinivasa, on Monday, 9 November, according to ANI, said:

“This year we have 55 counting stations compared to the usual number of 38, which corresponds to the number of districts, in the state. This has been done to increase social distancing.”   

According to HT, the poll panel has announced that 55 counting centres, housing 414 halls, spanning all 38 districts of the state have been set up.

In East Champaran (which has 12 Assembly constituencies), Gaya (10 constituencies), Siwan (eight constituencies) and Begusarai (seven constituencies) as many as three counting centres have been set up, reported HT.

Security arrangement, according to HT, has also been amped, with 59 companies of paramilitary forces being deployed to maintain law and order.

“The Election Commission gave 19 companies of paramilitary forces to guard strongrooms. They are the innermost core of counting centres’ security.”   
HR Srinivasa, according to ANI   
8:01 AM , 10 Nov

Counting Begins in Bihar Assembly Elections

The counting of votes in Bihar Assembly elections has begun, with the Nitish Kumar-led NDA facing competition from the Tejashwi Yadav-led Mahagathbandhan.

8:19 AM , 10 Nov

NDA Takes Lead In 7 Of 16 Seats

The NDA – BJP and JD(U) – are leading seven of 16 seats, show early trends.

8:22 AM , 10 Nov

14 Leads Each For NDA & MGB

Of the 28 seats that show early trends, JD(U)-led NDA and RJD-led Mahagatbandhan are leading in 14 seats each, reported News18.

Published: 10 Nov 2020, 7:14 AM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!