FAQ: Which States Require a Negative RT-PCR Test for Entry?

Some states have made it mandatory for passengers entering from specific places like Maharashtra and Kerala.

2 min read
Which states require you to carry a RT-PCR certificate? Here’s all you need to know.

As India continues to record a massive spike in the number of fresh coronavirus infections, many states have made it mandatory for visitors to carry a negative RT-PCR certificate. Some states have made the certificate mandatory only for those passengers entering from specific counterparts like Maharashtra and Kerala.

Which states require you to carry an RT-PCR certificate? Here's all you need to know.

1. Maharashtra

  • Those travelling to Maharashtra from Kerala, Delhi-NCR, Gujarat, and Rajasthan will need a negative RT-PCR test.
  • This is applicable to passengers travelling by air, train, road, or bus.
  • The negative RT-PCR test should be taken 72 hours prior to the flight.

2. Karnataka

  • Passengers travelling to Karnataka from Maharashtra and Kerala will need a negative COVID-19 certificate, irrespective of the mode of transport.
  • While inter-state and inter-district travel is allowed, an earlier report said that an RT-PCR was mandatory for all passengers wanting to enter Bengaluru.
  • This order is not in place, the government clarified.

3. Rajasthan, Jammu & Kashmir

An RT-PCR test is mandatory for any passenger who wants to enter the state and the Union territory from outside.

4. Uttarakhand

  • A COVID-19 test is mandatory for those coming from Maharashtra, Gujarat, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhattisgarh.
  • If you do not have a test on arrival, you will be asked to take one on state borders, Dehradun airport and at the railway station.

5. Assam

  • All air travellers from Mumbai and Bengaluru arriving at any airport in Assam need to carry the negative RT-PCR report of the test conducted within 72 hours of arrival, with effect from 9 April.
  • However, for others coming to Assam, a swab or antigen test on arrival will be conducted at both railway stations and airports.

6. Delhi

While you do not need a negative RT-PCR to enter the state yet, you might be subjected to random tests at the airport and railway stations.

7. Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram

While a negative RT-PCR certificate is needed for those from Maharashtra and Karnataka entering Meghalaya, all passengers need to carry a negative certificate to enter Manipur and Mizoram.

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!