Navy Reinstates Three Women Officers for Permanent Commission

The Navy allowed permanent commission to three retired women officers, resolving a tussle that started in November.

1 min read
This has been regarded as a significant development in the ongoing struggle between the Government and 17 women naval officers. (Photo: PTI)

Three retired women Naval officers have been reinstated for permanent commission, provided they clear the medical tests they have been asked to undergo.

This is a step forward for the recognition of women in the armed forces, as the Navy was the only wing so far to deny permanent commission to women – although now women are eligible after completing seven years of service.

There has been an ongoing battle between the government and 17 women naval officers fighting for recognition.

The government had decided to only provide permanent commission to women officers joining the education, law, and naval architecture branches after September 2008 – following which, the Supreme Court had to restrain the Navy from releasing 17 women officers who were eligible for permanent commission.


Now, however, the Navy has “approved the reinstatement” of three women officers, Commander Suman Kumari, Commander Supriya Sethu and Commander Pawan Preet Mann, in an official statement. The rest of the 17 officers are awaiting further hearing from the Supreme Court.

The first women Naval officers to receive permanent commissions would be appointed this year. Previously, women officers in the Navy were appointed for a short duration with the upper limit being 14 years. This limit made them ineligible for pension, which requires a minimum of 20 years of service.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!