Malik, Jhajharia, Bhati: Story of India’s Paralympic Medallists

The Quint takes a look at the Indian medal winners at the Rio Paralympics.

1 min read

India has won four medals at the Rio Paralympics so far. The Quint takes a look at how the medallists have made the country proud despite all odds.

Mariyappan Thangavelu bagged India’s first gold medal at the Rio Paralympics after clearing 1.89m in high jump and his teammate Varun Singh Bhati won the bronze after clearing 1.86m.

Deepa Malik became the first Indian woman and oldest athlete to win a medal at Paralympics after winning a silver medal in the shot put event and Devendra Jhajharia clinched his second Paralympic gold medal after he broke his own world record (63.97m) in javelin throw.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!