Uttarkhand Goes To BJP: “Long Live Democracy,” Modi Tells Congress

Catch live updates of Uttarakhand Assembly elections 2017 with The Quint!

Uttarkhand Goes To BJP: “Long Live Democracy,” Modi Tells Congress

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

9:21 PM , 11 Mar

Modi Wave Sweeps Congress in Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand seems to have gone ahead with its cyclic change of power, with the voters giving an unprecedented mandate to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) this time around.

According to the results declared on Saturday, the BJP won 57 seats in the 70-member assembly, garnering a considerable 46.5 per cent of votes.

The Congress, which was ruling in the state, got only 11 seats, though in terms of percentage, it got a respectable 33.5 per cent of votes, which is not far below its previous percentage of 33.79 per cent. But the percentage of votes did not translate into seats for the Congress.

While the Congress' infighting can be blamed to some extent for the party's poor showing, the Modi wave seemed to have swept the hilly state like never before

9:21 PM , 11 Mar
5:07 PM , 11 Mar

PM Tweets Back After Rahul Congratulates BJP for Victory

Prime Minister Modi responded to Rahul’s message with a tweet.

4:54 PM , 11 Mar

Uttarakhand BJP's President Ajay Bhatt Loses in Ranikhet

Published: 11 Mar 2017, 12:14 AM IST
Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member

or more


3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News