ADVERTISEMENT

How England Won the Final But New Zealand Didn’t Lose

After the Super Over it was found out that England hit 26 boundaries compared to New Zealand’s 17.

Updated
New Zealand despite not losing the match had to be content being the runners-up for the second successive time.
i

It was one of the most extraordinary World Cup final ever to be played in the history of the game.

England and New Zealand, could not be separated after the first hundred overs of the game. But neither the Super Over could decided the fate of the game. Eventually, it was the boundary count which clinched the deal in England’s favour.

ADVERTISEMENT

New Zealand scored 241/8 batting first. England in their chase scored 241 before being bowled out in the final over of the game.

Then in the Super Over, batting first, England scored 15 and New Zealand also scored the same amount of runs before Jos Buttler ran Martin Guptill out to help England win their first World Cup final.

Thus, the tie couldn’t be resolved even after the Super Over. As per the rules, if the fate of a match continues to be unresolved even the Super Over in such scenario the team which has scored more boundaries is declared the winner.

After the Super Over it was found out that England hit 26 boundaries compared to New Zealand’s 17. Thus, the host nation were declared the winners.

So, New Zealand despite not losing the match had to be content being the runners-up for the second successive time.

The way the game ended raised quite a few questions on whether this is how the game should have ended. Fans also said that this is unfair on Kane Willamson.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Published: 
ADVERTISEMENT
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
ADVERTISEMENT