Roger Federer Most Celebrated Winner in Laureus Awards History

World No 1 Roger Federer received the Sportsman of the Year and Comeback awards at the 2018 Laureus Awards.

3 min read
World No1 tennis star Roger Federer received the Sportsman of the Year and Comeback awards.

World tennis number 1, Roger Federer received the Sportsman of the Year and Comeback awards to become the most decorated winner in the history of Laureus, with six laurels. Twenty-three-time Grand Slam winner Serena Williams took home the sportswoman crown, her fifth Laureus Award.

In the company of HSH Prince Albert and HSH Princess Charlene, 36-year-old Federer was awarded his fifth and sixth Laureus statuettes, at the 2018 Awards Ceremony in Monaco.

This is a very special moment for me. Everyone knows how highly I value my Laureus Awards, so to win another would have been wonderful, but to win two is a truly unique honour. And so unexpected. I am delighted and I would like to thank the Laureus Academy for all their support.
Roger Federer

“It was an unforgettable year for me, to come back after a very difficult 2016, and these Awards just make it even more memorable. When I won my first Laureus Award back in 2005, if you had said I would have ended up winning six I would not have believed you. It’s been an amazing ride.”

Voted for by the legends of sport in the Laureus World Sports Academy, the Awards recognised sporting achievement in the 2017 calendar year. The Awards were hosted by Hollywood superstar Benedict Cumberbatch, while world-renowned singer-songwriter Emeli Sandé performed for guests.

In the Sportsman of the Year category, Federer fought off tough competition from the likes of Rafael Nadal and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the Award. The Swiss tennis star who won the Australian Open and Wimbledon, also received the Comeback of the Year Award, in recognition of his achievements in overcoming a serious knee injury.

Williams won the Sportswoman of the Year Award following her Australian Open success, her 23rd Grand Slam title. Serena, who also gave birth to her first child in 2017, is now the most decorated female Laureus Award winner with five Laureus statuettes.

Golfer Sergio Garcia won his second Laureus Award, 18 years after winning the Laureus Newcomer accolade at the 2000 Awards. The Spaniard received the Breakthrough of the Year Award for winning the 2017 Masters, his first ever Major Championship win on his 74th attempt.

Mercedes AMG Petronas beat the likes of Real Madrid and the Golden State Warriors to win the Team of the Year Award, after continuing their dominance in Formula One by securing their fourth successive Constructors World Championship.

Brazilian football team Chapecoense, the team which was torn apart by a devastating plane crash and whose revival and comeback inspired the sporting world, were honoured with the Laureus Best Sporting Moment of the Year Award.

Other Awardees

Action Sportsperson of the Year Award: French Vendée Globe winning sailor Armel Le Cléac'h
World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award: Swiss triple world champion wheelchair racer Marcel Hug
Laureus Academy Exceptional Achievement Award: Italy and Roma football legend Francesco Totti
Laureus Sporting Inspiration Award: Houston Texans defensive end JJ Watt
Laureus Lifetime Achievement Award: US Olympic Legend and Laureus Academy Member Edwin Moses

(Hey there, lady! What makes you laugh? Do you laugh at sexism, patriarchy, and misogyny? Do 'sanskaari' stereotypes crack you up? This Women's Day, join The Quint's Ab Laugh Naari campaign. Pick up that beer, say cheers, and send us photographs or videos of you laughing out loud at

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!