IPL Toss Update: Rohit Returns for Mumbai, RR’s Ben Stokes Injured

Rajasthan Royals captain Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and opted to bowl in their Indian Premier League (IPL) match.

Updated13 Apr 2019, 10:27 AM IST
2 min read

Rajasthan Royals captain Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and decided to bowl first in their Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the Wankhede stadium. Hosts Mumbai Indians’ skipper Rohit Sharma is back in the team after missing the previous game – the first time in 11 years that he missed a match in the T20 league.

At the toss, Sharma said he's fit to go and the rest in the previous game was more of a precaution.

Rahane said: "We will bowl first. Not sure how this pitch will play, but it will get better under lights. We have been playing some good cricket, but in T20s, we need to play well in the crunch situations. We have a few changes. Stokes is injured and will be replaced by Liam Livingstone, Gowtham is back as well."

‘Siddhesh Unlucky to Miss Out’

MI made just one change with skipper Rohit Sharma back in place of Siddhesh Lad. Rohit however gave a shoutout to Lad, who had played his first IPL match after sitting on the bench for 9 years. One change for us, I am back in place of Siddhesh, who is unlucky to miss out. He looked good the other day, but this is a long tournament and he should get more chances in the future," Rohit said.

"It's a 4 pm game, should help the spinners. The pitch shouldn't be much of a factor. We need to play some good cricket, we are on a roll as a team and need to continue doing it,” he added.

Reporting on the pitch, Simon Doull said: "It's been an absolute belter here this season. The pitch is so hard, lots of grass, it only adds to pace and bounce. It's a bat first wicket, put the runs on the board and then field when it's a lot cooler."

Playing XI: Mumbai Indians vs Rajasthan Royals

Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Alzarri Joseph, Rahul Chahar, Jason Behrendorff, Jasprit Bumrah

Rajasthan Royals (Playing XI): Ajinkya Rahane(c), Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson(w), Steven Smith, Rahul Tripathi, Liam Livingstone, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Jaydev Unadkat, Dhawal Kulkarni

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Published: 13 Apr 2019, 10:25 AM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!