20 Big Records Broken in the League Stage of IPL 2019

20 big records broken in the league stage of the 2019 IPL.

Updated06 May 2019, 10:54 AM IST
3 min read

56 matches, 6 weeks, 8 teams, and the 2019 Indian Premier League is down to 4 teams as we hit the business end of the tournament.

Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad are the four franchises that get to fight it out for the next week ahead of the final on Sunday, 12 May.

But as the teams prepare for the qualifiers and the eliminator, here’s a look at which players and franchises have entered the record books with their performances.

1. Mumbai Indians’ Alzarri Joseph bowled IPL history’s best-ever spell, returning with figures of 6/12 against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

2. Jonny Bairstow and David Warner’s opening partnership not only carried Sunrisers Hyderabad’s season but also made it into the record books. Their 185-run stand against RCB on 31 March is IPL history’s best-ever opening partnership.

3. When Bairstow and Warner scored hundreds against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Hyderabad, it was the first time that both openers had scored centuries in the same innings in the IPL.

4. The 791 runs scored by Bairstow and Warner together are the most runs by an opening pair in an IPL season.

5. David Warner, despite playing only 12 matches this season, finished as the highest-scorer with 692 runs. The Aussie smashed one unbeaten century and 8 half-centuries.

6. Warner has now scored half-centuries in eight consecutive matches against Kings XI Punjab. He also set the record for the most 50-plus scores against an IPL opponent; he has 10 half-centuries against KXIP.

Warner and Bairstow both struck centuries against RCB. 
Warner and Bairstow both struck centuries against RCB. 
(Photo: BCCI/IPL)

7. Bhuvneshwar Kumar became the first bowler to take 100 IPL wickets for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

8. Mumbai Indians became the first team to post 100 wins in the IPL when they defeated the Chennai Super Kings in Mumbai.

9. Dinesh Karthik's 97 not out against the Rajasthan Royals would be the highest score made by a Kolkata Knight Riders captain in the IPL.

10. When Sunrisers Hyderabad lost 8 wickets for 15 runs in their match against the Delhi Capitals, it would the biggest eight-wicket collapse in the IPL.

20 Big Records Broken in the League Stage of IPL 2019
(Photo: PTI)

11. At 17 years and 175 days, Rajasthan Royals’ Riyan Parag became the youngest player to score an IPL half-century when he hit 50 off 49 against Delhi Capitals. The record was earlier held by his RR teammate Sanju Samson who had scored his fifty aged 18 years 169 days in 2013.

12. At 16 years and 157 days of age, RCB's Prayas Ray Barman became the youngest cricketer to play in the IPL when he was given his debut cap on 31 March vs Sunrisers Hyderabad.

13. Sam Curran became the youngest bowler to take a hat-trick in the IPL; he was 20y 302d when he took a hat-trick against the Delhi Capitals.

Curran became the youngest bowler to take a hattrick in IPL history. 
Curran became the youngest bowler to take a hattrick in IPL history. 
(Photo: BCCI/ IPL)

14. When Shubman Gill, Chris Lynn and Andre Russell all made 50s in KKR's match against the Mumbai Indians, it would be only the third time in 12 seasons of the IPL that the top three batsmen had made 50s in the same innings.

15. Suresh Raina became the first fielder to take 100 catches in the IPL; he reached the milestone when he took a catch to dismiss the Delhi Capitals' Prithvi Shaw.

16. Delhi Capitals' Prithvi Shaw became the only teenager in the IPL to be dismissed on 99; he was 19 years and 141 days when he was dismissed one short of a century against the Kolkata Knight Riders.

17. AB de Villiers became the first overseas player to appear in 150 IPL matches.

18. MS Dhoni became the first batting captain to complete 4000 runs in the IPL.

19. Ajinkya Rahane and Steve Smith kept exchanging the captain’s hat this season but their 130-run stand against Delhi Capitals is also Rajasthan Royals’ best second wicket partnership.

20. Kagiso Rabada was forced to cut short his IPL season with Delhi Capitals but the South African pacer still finished as the top wicket-taker of the league stage, with 25 wickets in 12 games. Giving away from 368 runs all season, Rabada also claimed two 4-wicket hauls.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Published: 05 May 2019, 08:25 PM IST
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!