Rahane’s Blinder, Rahul’s Honesty: A Tale of Two ‘Catches’ at SCG

A catch-of-the-series contender, and a moment of moral correctness. Both won admiration across social media.

Updated
Cricket
1 min read
Ajinkya Rahane celebrates after taking a stunning catch to dismiss Marnus Labuschagne on Day 3 of the Sydney Test.
i

After two days of grinding Australia on the field with a superlative batting display, India continued to turn the screws at the Sydney Test with a charged effort in the afternoon session on Day 3 of the fourth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

On the cusp of a historic, first-ever Test series win Down Under, India didn’t let their heads drop despite a successful opening session for the Australian batsmen on a flat SCG wicket.

No effort underlined the visitors’ determination better than Ajinkya Rahane’s catch to dismiss the well-set Marnus Labuschagne, off the bowling of Mohammed Shami.

Rahane’s catch was also a great exhibit of tactical flair from Virat Kohli. The Indian captain had placed his vice-captain in the catching position minutes before the dismissal.

A ‘non’ catch, too, got people talking on Day 3 of the Sydney Test.

In the opening session, with Australia’s openers settling in comfortably, KL Rahul appeared to have plucked a sharp catch from the blade of Marcus Harris. But the India opener, who has been picked on through the course of the series for his lack of runs, immediately refused to claim the catch, saying the ball had bounced before he reached it.

The honest admission even earned a thumbs up from umpire Ian Gould!

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Published: 
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!