ADVERTISEMENT

Sachin Tendulkar Asks ICC to Reassess Umpire’s Call in DRS

Australia No. 3 Marnus Labuschagne survived due to Umpire’s Call against Mohammed Siraj.

Updated
Cricket
1 min read
Sachin Tendulkar had his say on the Umpire’s Call decision in the DRS
i

Former India skipper Sachin Tendulkar has questioned 'Umpires Call' clause in the Decision Review System saying that the International Cricket Council (ICC) needs to reassess it.

"The reason players opt for a review is because they're unhappy with the decision taken by the on-field umpire. The DRS system needs to be thoroughly looked into by the @ICC, especially for the 'Umpires Call'," said the batting maestro.

ADVERTISEMENT

The 'Umpires Call' clause comes into play in ball-tracking technology in case of close calls, leaving the umpire's decision as binding.

The third day's play in the second Test between Australia and India saw the 'Umpires Call' rescuing the Aussies twice in the second session following close calls.

Joe Burns survived a leg-before wicket appeal off a yorker from Jasprit Bumrah in the third over of Australia's second innings. After the umpire had given it not out, India went for a review but the batsman survived after Umpire's Call was taken into account at the point of ball hitting his leg.

Soon after, Australia No. 3 Marnus Labuschagne also survived against Mohammed Siraj. The umpire had given him not out after the batsman was caught in his crease. However, 'Umpires Call' came to his rescue again as the ball was shown barely clipping the bails.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Published: 
ADVERTISEMENT
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
ADVERTISEMENT