Kohli, Dhoni Rested; Rohit Sharma to Lead India in Nidahas Trophy

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya have also been rested for the tri-series.

2 min read
Virat Kohli and MS Dhoni have been rested for Nidahas Trophy 2018.

India captain Virat Kohli and wicketkeeper-batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni have been rested for India’s T20 tri-series against Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, announced the All-India Senior Selection Committee on Sunday, 25 February. Opener Rohit Sharma will be leading the squad in the Nidahas Trophy, scheduled to start in Sri Lanka on 6 March. Shikhar Dhawan will be his deputy in a side that has as many as six changes.

"MS Dhoni was not available for selection as he had requested for rest," national selector MSK Prasad was quoted as saying in a press release.

On predicted lines, top fast bowling duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested along with all-rounder Hardik Pandya after they shared enormous workload on the South Africa tour.

We’ve kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalising the team for Nidahas Trophy. The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximise rest and prevent injury.
MSK Prasad, Chairman of Selectors

Chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav is also not in the Sri Lanka-bound team.

A close look will indicate that selectors maintained consistency by selecting all those players who were part of the home T20s against Sri Lanka in December.

Coming back into the team is wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant, after a solid season in white-ball cricket including centuries in both national T20s and One-Dayers.

Off spinner Washington Sundar, pacer Mohammed Siraj and all rounder Deepak Hooda are back in the side after the home series against Sri Lanka.

All-rounder Vijay Shankar is the like-for-like replacement for Pandya.

Dinesh Karthik is the first keeper while Pant may play as pure batsman.

The prominent performer to miss out was Mayank Agarwal who scored 2,000 plus runs in the season.

Here’s the full squad for Nidahas Trophy 2018:

1 Rohit Sharma (Captain)
2. Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain)
3. KL Rahul
4. Suresh Raina
5. Manish Pandey
6. Dinesh Karthik (wk)
7. Deepak Hooda
8. Washington Sundar
9. Yuzvendra Chahal
10. Axar Patel
11. Vijay Shankar
12. Shardul Thakur
13. Jaydev Unadkat
14. Mohammad Siraj
15. Rishabh Pant (wk)

(With inputs from PTI.)

(The Quint, in association with BitGiving, has launched a crowdfunding campaign for an 8-month-old who was raped in Delhi on 28 January 2018. The baby girl, who we will refer to as 'Chhutki', was allegedly raped by her 28-year-old cousin when her parents were away. She has been discharged from AIIMS hospital after undergoing three surgeries, but needs more medical treatment in order to heal completely. Her parents hail from a low-income group and have stopped going to work so that they can take care of the baby. You can help cover Chhutki's medical expenses and secure her future. Every little bit counts. Click here to donate.)

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!