Injured Smith, Six Others Pull Out of Aus Tour of WI & B’desh

Smith and Warner along with five other big names have pulled out of Australia’s tour of West Indies and Bangladesh.

2 min read
Injured Smith, Six Others Pull Out of Aus Tour of WI & B’desh

The Quint DAILY

For impactful stories you just can’t miss

By subscribing you agree to our Privacy Policy

Seven Australian cricket stars, including Pat Cummins, Steve Smith and David Warner, pulled out of their national team's upcoming limited-overs tours of the West Indies and Bangladesh as Cricket Australia (CA) announced an 18-member squad on Wednesday.

Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Jhye Richardson and Kane Richardson have confirmed their withdrawal from the upcoming tours, days after CA expanded its preliminary squad by six players to 29.

“We are naturally disappointed not to have all players available for the Australian team at this time however the NSP (National Selection Panel) respects the decisions of those who have opted out of this tour.”
Trevor Hohns, Head Selector

While Smith has withdrawn due to elbow injury, six others according to a release from Cricket Australia "requested not to be considered for the tour for various reasons". All players who have withdrawn were also incidentally part of IPL’s Australian contingent that got back home only on 31 May after spending almost two weeks in transit in the Maldives and serving a 15 day isolation after entering Australia.

"Steve Smith was unavailable for selection due to an elbow injury and will now be able to use this time to fully recover ahead of the World Cup and home Ashes series. Steve was disappointed to miss the tour with the decision made on medical grounds," added Hohns.

All-rounder Cameron Green wasn't picked.


Australian Squad For WI & Bangladesh Tour

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Travelling reserves: Nathan Ellis, Tanveer Sangha.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Read and Breaking News at the Quint, browse for more from sports and cricket

Speaking truth to power requires allies like you.
Become a Member
3 months
12 months
12 months
Check Member Benefits
Read More
Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!
More News