1st ODI: SL Elect to Bat, Suryakumar and Ishan Make ODI Debuts

Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka has won the toss in the ODI series-opener against India.

1 min read
<div class="paragraphs"><p>India is playing Sri Lanka in the ODI series-opener on Sunday.</p></div>

The first ODI between India and Sri Lanka is now underway with skipper Dasun Shanaka winning the toss and electing to bat first at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Shikhar Dhawan is captaining India with Virat Kohli travelling with the Test team in England and at 35, he's become the oldest Indian cricketer to captain the team.

The Indian XI comprises two debutants with Suryakumar Yadav and Ishan Kishan getting their caps before the toss. For Sri Lanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa is making his debut.

A BCCI statement later revealed that Sanju Samson has been left out of the side as the keeper-batsman sprained a ligament in his knee and was not available for selection for this game.


Sri Lanka XI

Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka(wicket-keeper), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera and Lakshan Sandakan.

India XI

Shikhar Dhawan(captain), Prithvi Shaw, Ishan Kishan(wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!