India vs Pakistan Toss: Sarfraz Elects to Bat; Pandya & Bumrah In

Pakistan won the toss and opted to bat against India in a Group A game of the Asia Cup on Wednesday.

1 min read
India vs Pakistan Asia Cup: Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and elected to bat first against India in Dubai.

The big India vs Pakistan Asia Cup match is now officially underway with the toss taking place at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium at 4:30pm IST. (Click here for live updates from the match.)

Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmed won the toss and elected to bat first and Indian skipper Rohit Sharma also said he would have elected to do the same.

India have made two changes to their team, playing Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah, leaving out Shardul Thakur and Khaleel Ahmed, who made his debut last night. KL Rahul has once again been left out.

Pakistan are playing an unchanged side.

Pakistan won their first match of the tournament on Sunday, beating Hong Kong by 8 wickets. India only started their campaign last night, struggling in their opener against Hong Kong.

After setting 285 in their 50 overs, the Indian bowlers struggled to defend the target with Hong Kong’s opener Nizakat Khan and Anshuman Rath scoring half centuries. The match went to the last ball with India eventually winning by 26 runs.


India: Rohit Sharma(captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni(wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Kedar Jadhav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed(wicketkeeper/captain), Asif Ali, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!