Yogi, Parrikar, Maurya May Resign Soon From LS Ahead of Bypolls

The ministers now have roughly 60 days to be voted in to Assembly or council in a by-election.

2 min read
MPs who stuck around till the presidential polls – Keshav Prasad Maurya (left), Yogi Adityanath (centre) and Manohar Parrikar. 

After counting of the presidential election gets over on 20 July, few of BJP ministers will have to be elected as an MLA or MLC. The list includes UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Deputy CM of UP Keshav Prasad Maurya and Goa CM Manohar Parrikar.

The ministers now have roughly 60 days to be voted in to Assembly or council in a by-election. Before the by-election, the ministers have to resign from the Lok Sabha.

After the Assembly elections in March, the then defence minister Parrikar was handed the charge of Goa. Adityanath was handed over the reins in UP after the party’s landslide victory in the state and Maurya was made the Deputy CM. However, none of the three resigned from their positions as MPs in the four months since. The BJP took the decision to continue as MPs, keeping the presidential elections in mind.

Now, that the elections are over, the ministers will soon resign, sources told The Times of India.


The Numbers Game

The value of an MP’s vote in the presidential election is far higher than that of any MLA. Unsure of how close the contest for President may get, the BJP was in no mood to surrender any advantage and the party was well within the ambit of the law in doing so.

In the past, a single vote had made all the difference in what was India’s most dramatic no-confidence motion ever. Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s 13-month-old NDA government had been toppled.

And at the heart of the controversy was the then Odisha CM Giridhar Gamang, who had walked in to Parliament to cast his vote, despite having been sworn in as chief minister as early as February that year.

What Will be Yogi’s Choice of Seat?

It will be the first time in 28 years that the Gorakhpur constituency will not have the Gorakhnath temple’s head priest as its member.

The report added that Yogi may contest from Campierganj, Shahjanwa seat Gorakhpur Rural and whoever leaves his Vidhan Sabha seat for the CM will become the potential Lok Sabha candidate.

(We all love to express ourselves, but how often do we do it in our mother tongue? Here's your chance! This Independence Day, khul ke bol with BOL – Love your Bhasha. Sing, write, perform, spew poetry – whatever you like – in your mother tongue. Send us your BOL or WhatsApp it to 9910181818.)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!