Decisive Defeat for Cong: BJP Sweeps Rajasthan Local Body Polls  

Check all important and key updates for the Rajasthan Zila Parishad, Panchayat Samiti Elections 2020 here.

2 min read
Rajasthan Panchayat Samiti and Zila Parishad Election Results

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday, 9 December, won 1,989 of the 4,371 Panchayat Samiti constituencies in Rajasthan, while the Congress is trailing with 1,852 constituencies.

The Independents gained 439 seats, the Bahujan Samaj Party got 5 seats while CPI(M) captured 26 seats in the elections while RLP got 60 seats, according to the state election commission website.

The BJP managed to win Zila Parishad elections, where they clinched 353 seats while Congress was limited to 252.

As per the Rajasthan State Election Commission website, CPI-M garnered two seats, the Independents 18 and Rashtriya Loktantrik Party had 10 seats.

BJP’s Win Reflects the Trust in PM Modi: JP Nadda

“BJP’s win in panchayat, zila parishad polls in Rajasthan shows the trust of poor farmers, labourers in PM Modi,” said party president JP Nadda.
Decisive Defeat for Cong: BJP Sweeps Rajasthan Local Body Polls  

After BJP’s massive victory in Rajasthan polls, Union Minister Prakash Javadekar said that the BJP has decisively defeated the Congress in the state.

Addressing the media, Javadekar stated that the party's win in the Rajasthan local body polls shows the party's stand on the farm laws.

Farmers have overwhelmingly supported the BJP in Rajasthan, Javadekar added.

“This (results) shows that the people of Rajasthan are with the BJP. And not only Rajasthan, the results in Bihar, Telangana, Arunachal Pradesh also show that the entire nation is happy with the BJP and its reforms. Voters have rejected the Opposition's negative politics," said Javadekar.

“This victory is the people’s stamp on BJP’s rural policies. It reflects PM Narendra Modi’s developed ideology for farmers and this victory also reflects the hard efforts taken by BJP workers,” BJP state president Satish Poonia said, reported IANS.

BJP leader BL Santhosh meanwhile congratulated the Rajasthan BJP.

Decisive Defeat for Cong: BJP Sweeps Rajasthan Local Body Polls  

First Election in State Since Lockdown

The polls were conducted in four phases: 23 November, 27 November, 1 December and 5 December.

The elections are being held in the districts of Ajmer, Banswara, Barmer, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dungarpur, Hanumangarh, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jhalawar, Jhunjhunu, Nagaur, Pali, Pratapgarh, Rajsamand, Sikar, Tonk and Udaipur.

Counting began at 9 am on Tuesday for 1,778 candidates who are standing for 636 Zila Parishad positions and 12,663 candidates for 4,371 Panchayat Samiti posts.

The election for the head or chief of Panchayat will be held on 10 December and the election of the deputy chief will be conducted on 11 December.

The Rajasthan Zila Parishad and Panchayat Samiti elections are the first elections to be conducted in the state after the COVID-19 nationwide lockdown was imposed in March. As of 8 December, the state has 21,671 active cases.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!