Cong Sweeps Rajasthan Local Body Polls, Pilot Praises Governance
Rajasthan Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot.
Rajasthan Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot.(Photo: PTI)

Cong Sweeps Rajasthan Local Body Polls, Pilot Praises Governance

After the Congress bagged eight of the 16 seats in 10 districts of Rajasthan in the local bodies bypoll, Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot said that the state government was working for the welfare of all sections, which reflected in the election results.

"The faith people have shown in the Congress shows that the party is working on development policy and people are benefitting from welfare schemes," Pilot, who is also the state party chief, said in a statement.

He added that the independent candidate who won from Rawatsar was of the Congress ideology while the one who emerged victorious in Gajsinghpur was supported by the party.

The Congress bagged eight seats while the BJP emerged victorious on five in the bypoll, results of which were declared on Wednesday, 12 June.

Also Read : J&K Civic Body Polls: Voting Underway for the Fourth Phase

Three wards were won by independent candidates. Two independent candidates won from Rawatsar in Hanumangarh district while the third won from Gajsinghpur of Sriganganagar district.

Polling to 16 wards of Alwar, Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Bundi, Churu, Dholpur, Hanumangarh, Jaipur, Karauli and Srigangnagar was held on 10 June.

The Congress won in Khairthal, Behror, Jahajpur, Indergarh, Sujangarh, Nohar, Shahpura and bagged one of the seats in Hindaun.

The BJP emerged victorious in Weir, Chhapar, Bari and Todabhim besides bagging a seat in Hindaun, as per the results declared by the Rajasthan State Election Commission.

Also Read : Saffron Surge in West Bengal Bypolls as Well, 4 out of 8 for BJP

(The Quint is now available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Follow our Politics section for more stories.

    Also Watch