EVM Row: Re-Polling in 123 Booths Across Kairana and Other Seats

The polling will take place on Wednesday, 30 May.

2 min read
A polling official applies indelible phosphorus ink on the fore finger of a voter.

After reports of faulty VVPAT machines at the bypolls in Kairana, Bhandara-Gondiya, and Aonglenden Lok Sabha constituencies, the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Tuesday, 29 May, ordered repolling at 123 booths across the three seats.

The repolling has been scheduled for 30 May.

The repolling will take place at 49 booths in Bhandara-Gondiya, while in Kairana, votes will again be polled in 73 booths.

In Nagaland's Aongleden, repolling will be conducted in only one polling booth.

Sources told The Quint that re-polling will take place in 23 booths of Nakud, 45 of Gangoh, one of Thanabhavan and four of Shamli.

According to Indian Express, the DGP office has also instructed the authorities of Shamli and Saharanpur not to remove the security from these 73 booths.

The EC also ordered the transfer of District Collector Abhimanyu Kale, with Kadambari Balkawade set to replace him.

Kale had, on Monday, cited high temperatures as the primary reason for the malfunctioning of the Voter-Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) during the polling in the Bhandara-Gondia Lok Sabha constituency.

As the ruling BJP joined Opposition parties in complaining against alleged malfunctioning of "hundreds" of EVMs and paper trail machines during bypolls in Uttar Pradesh on Tuesday, the poll panel said less than one percent voting machines, but over 11 percent VVPATs were replaced, even as it sought to put the blame on "extreme heat" and mishandling by some polling staff.

Within hours of saying that that there was “no abnormality in EVMs at all”, the Election Commission issued figures to indicate that 96 ballot units (the actual EVM), 84 control units (the command unit of the machine which is with the presiding officer) were replaced at four Lok Sabha and nine assembly bypolls on Tuesday across 10 states.

It said 12,695 ballot units and 10,365 control units were used in the bypolls. It said percentage-wise, 0.76 percent ballot units and 0.86 percent control units were replaced, reported PTI.

(With inputs from Indian Express, PTI and ANI)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!