India, Pakistan to Become Full SCO Members at Astana Summit: China

Afghanistan, Belarus, India, Iran, Mongolia and Pakistan have an observer status till now.

1 min read
Is India seeking the way forward with Pakistan? Pakistan PM Nawaz Sharif and PM Narendra Modi. (Photo: Reuters)

India and Pakistan's admission to the Beijing-backed Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) will be formalised at the grouping's summit in Kazakhstan next week, China said on Thursday.

The members states of the SCO are accelerating the MoU procedures with the two countries and everything is going very well.
Hua Chunying, Foreign Ministry Spokesperson

"We hope India and Pakistan as the full members at the Astana summit (on 8-9 June). We also expect the Astana summit will complete the admission procedures for the two countries," Hua told reporters.

The political and security grouping – headquartered in Beijing – was founded in 2001 and comprises Russia, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan, besides China as full members. It is mainly aimed at military cooperation between the members and involves intelligence-sharing, counter-terrorism operations in Central Asia.

Afghanistan, Belarus, India, Iran, Mongolia and Pakistan have an observer status.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!