Delhi Traffic and Metro Advisory Ahead of Republic Day Celebration

Entry and exit will be closed at Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan stations from midnight till 12.30 pm on 26 Jan.

5 min read
Delhi metro restrictions for Republic Day.

On Republic Day i.e 26 January, entry and exit will be closed at Central Secretariat and Udyog Bhawan metro stations from midnight till 12.30 pm. The services of Delhi Metro, however, will be only partially curtailed as part of the security arrangements for the Republic Day celebrations as per the instructions of Delhi Police.

Patel Chowk and Race Course metro stations will be closed for entry and exit from 8.45 am till 12.30 pm.

Metro schedules of Line – 2 (HUDA City Centre – Samaypur Badli), Line – 3 (Noida City Centre – Dwarka Sector 21), Line -4 (Yamuna Bank to Vaishali) and Line 6 (Kashmere Gate-Escorts Mujesar)have been partially modified for 26th January 2018 (Friday). The changes are as follows:

Delhi Traffic and Metro Advisory Ahead of Republic Day Celebration
(Photo Courtesy: DMRC)

Beating Retreat Ceremony

On 29 January (Monday), on the occasion of Beating Retreat, Metro services at Central Secretariat and Udyog Bhawan Metro stations of Line 2 (HUDA City Centre – Samaypur Badli) will not be available from 02.00 pm to 06.30 pm.

However, interchange of passengers from Line 2 to Line 6 (Kashmere Gate to Escorts Mujesar) and vice versa will be allowed at Central Secretariat Metro station during this period. Normal services at these stations will be restored at 6:30 pm.

Metro Parking on 26 January

In addition, all Metro parking lots will remain closed from 06.00 am on 25 January to 2.00 pm on 26 January 2018. This step has also been taken as part of the security arrangements.

Here is the Delhi Police Traffic Advisory for 25 and 26 January:

Traffic Arrangements on Republic Day

The Republic Day Parade will start at 9.50 am from Vijay Chowk and proceed for Red Fort Grounds. There will be a related function at India Gate at 09.00 am.

There would be elaborate traffic arrangements and restrictions in place for smooth conduct of the Parade along the route.

Route of the Republic Day Parade

Vijay Chowk - Rajpath - India Gate - Tilak Marg - Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg - Netaji Subhash Marg - Red Fort.

Traffic Restrictions on 26 Jan

In order to facilitate smooth passage of the Parade, movement of traffic on certain roads leading to the route of the Parade will be restricted as under:

  • No traffic on Rajpath from Vijay Chowk to India Gate from 03.00 pm on 25 January till Parade is over.
  • No cross traffic on Rajpath from 11.00 pm on 25 January at Rafi Marg, Janpath, Man Singh Road till Parade is over.
  • India Gate will be closed for traffic from 02.00 am on 26 January till Parade crosses Tilak Marg.
  • From 10.00 am on 26 January Traffic on Tilak Marg, BSZ Marg and Subhash Marg will not be allowed on both directions. Cross traffic will only be allowed depending upon the movement of the Parade.

Road users are requested to plan their journey in advance accordingly and avoid the route of Parade, from 02.00 hours to 12.30 hours, for their own convenience.

Suggested Routes on Republic Day 2018

However, if the journey is unavoidable, the road users are advised to take following routes:

North-South Corridor

Ring Road – Ashram Chowk – Sarai Kale Khan – IP Flyover – Rajghat – Ring Road

From Madrasa - Lodhi Road ‘T’ point – Aurobindo Marg – AIIMS Chowk –Ring Road – Dhaula Kuan – Vande Matram Marg – Shankar Road – Park Street or Mandir Marg.

East-West Corridor

Ring Road – Bhairon Road – Mathura Road – Lodhi Road - Aurobindo Marg – AIIMS Chowk – Ring Road – Dhaula Kuan – Vande Matram Marg – Shankar Road – Park Street or Mandir Marg.

Ring Road – Boulevard Road - Barf Khana Chowk – Rani Jhansi Road- Faiz Road – Vande Matram Marg – R/A Shankar Road – Ring Road – ISBT – Chnadgi Ram Akhara – IP College – Mall Road – Azadpur – Punjabi Bagh.

For New Delhi Railway Station

From South Delhi:
Dhaula Kuan – Vande Matram Marg – Panchkuian Road – Outer Circle Connaught Place – Chelmsford Road for Paharganj side or Minto Road – Bhavbhuti Marg for Ajmeri Gate side.

From East Delhi:
Boulevard Road via ISBT Bridge – Rani Jhansi Road – R/A Jhandewalan – D B Gupta Road – Sheela Cinema Road – Paharganj Bridge and reach New Delhi Railway Station.

For Old Delhi Railway Station

From South Delhi:
Ring Road – Ashram Chowk – Sarai Kale Khan – Ring Road – Rajghat – Ring Road –Chowk – Yamuna Bazar – SP Mukherjee Marg – Chhatta Rail – Kauria Bridge and reach Old Delhi Railway Station.

Though there will be no restriction for people from North Delhi going towards New Delhi Railway Station or Old Delhi Railway Station yet it is advised that they plan their journey in advance and take sufficient extra time to reach their destination to avoid possible delay.

Bus Terminating Points

Movement of the City Bus Services will be curtailed at the following points:-

  • Park Street/Udyan Marg
  • Aram Bagh Road (Pahar Ganj)
  • R/A Kamla Market
  • Delhi Sachivalaya (IG Stadium)
  • Pragati Maiden (Bhairon Road)
  • Hanuman Mandir (Yamuna Bazar)
  • Mori Gate
  • ISBT Kashmiri Gate
  • ISBT Sarai Kale Khan
  • Tis Hazari Court

Inter State Buses

  • Buses from Ghaziabad bound for Shivaji Stadium shall take NH-24, Ring Road and terminate at Bhairon Road.
  • Buses coming from NH-24 shall take right turn on Road No. 56 and terminate at ISBT Anand Vihar.
  • Buses coming from Ghaziabad side will be diverted at Mohan Nagar towards Bhopura Chungi for Wazirabad Bridge.
  • All Inter State buses coming from Dhaula Kuan side shall terminate at Dhaula Kuan.

Metro Services on 69th Republic Day

Metro Rail Service shall remain available for commuters at all Metro Stations during the Republic Day Parade on 26 January 2018.

However, no TSR and Taxi will be allowed to enter or ply after 0700 hours on 26 January in the area bound by:

Mother Teresa Crescent – Baba Khadak Singh Marg – Ashoka Road upto R/A Patel Chowk – Sansad Marg upto Tolstoy Marg upto – Tolstoy Marg upto Kasturba Gandhi Marg – Kasturba Gandhi Marg upto Ferozeshah Road – Ferozeshah Road puto R/A Mandi House – Bhagwan Dass Road – Mathura Road – Subramania Bharti Marg – Humayun Road – APJ Abdul Kalam Marg – Kamal Ata Turk Marg – Kautilya Marg and Sardar Patel Road (excluding).

(With inputs from DMRC and Delhi Police Advisory)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!