Nine Uttarakhand Rebel Congress MLAs, Including Ex-CM, Join BJP

Uttarakhand, a Congress stronghold, will go to polls in early 2017.

Hot News
1 min read
File photo of rebel Congress leader Vijay Bahuguna, along with other rebel Congress MLAs, at his official residence in Dehradun. (Photo: PTI)

The nine rebel MLAs from Congress, including former chief minister Vijay Bahuguna joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday.

Political turmoil ensued in the state after the rebel MLAs tried to overthrow the elected Congress government led by Harish Rawat.

The BJP-led central government had imposed President’s rule in the state. However, Rawat challenged it and the Supreme Court sided with the state.

BJP president Amit Shah and top party leaders from the state met and discussed their strategy after the major setback. Uttarakhand will go to polls early in 2017.

(With agency inputs)

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!