Cong to repeat all MLAs in 2019 Maharashtra polls

Cong to repeat all MLAs in 2019 Maharashtra polls

Hot News
2 min read
New Delhi: Congress interim President Sonia Gandhi during a meeting of party general secretaries, state in-charges, state unit chiefs and others at party Headquarters in New Delhi on Sep 12, 2019. (Photo: IANS)
New Delhi, Sep 14 (IANS) All sitting Congress MLAs would be repeated in the 2019 Maharashtra Assembly polls, sources said after the Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting, which was chaired by Congress interim chief Sonia Gandhi at her residence, here on Saturday.
A senior party source present at the two-&-half-hour plus meeting, on the condition of anonymity, told IANS, "All sitting Congress MLAs are going to be repeated in the Assembly polls."
The meeting was attended by party General Secretaries K.C. Venugopal, Ambika Soni, Veerappa Moily, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Ahmed Patel, Mallikarjuna Kharge, who is also state in-charge, and several Maharashtra leaders.
According the source, about 60 names were cleared by the screening committee earlier in the day.
Speaking to the media later, Kharge said 90 per cent of the names, sent by the screening committee to the CEC, were accepted. The screening committee would meet again on September 17 and the CEC on September 18 in which a lot of other names would be discussed, he added.
Discussions were held on over 125 seats in Maharashtra, the source added.
On the seat-sharing formula, Kharge said, "Talks have been held and we will decide the seats. All things are going on properly."
To a question if Raj Thackrey's Maharashtra Nirman Sena will be part of the alliance in the state, he said, "There was no discussion on Thackrey's party."
Another senior party leader, present at the meeting, said the MNS would not be part of the alliance.
In the 2014 elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came to power by winning 122 seats in the 288-member Assembly. It's ally Shiv Sena won 62 seats.
The Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) bagged 42 and 41 seats, respectively.
However, both the Congress and the NCP have faced departures. Actor-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar, who contested the North Mumbai seat, quit the party last week, followed by former Minister and senior leader Kripa Shankar Singh.

(This story was auto-published from a syndicated feed. No part of the story has been edited by The Quint.)

(The Quint is available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

We'll get through this! Meanwhile, here's all you need to know about the Coronavirus outbreak to keep yourself safe, informed, and updated.

Liked this story? We'll send you more. Subscribe to The Quint's newsletter and get selected stories delivered to your inbox every day. Click to get started.

The Quint is available on Telegram & WhatsApp too, click to join.

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!