Toss: Sanju Samson Elects to Bowl, KKR Can Seal Playoffs Berth With a Big Win

KKR qualify for the playoffs if they win this game against Rajasthan Royals.

2 min read
<div class="paragraphs"><p>IPL 2021: Eoin Morgan's KKR are playing Rajasthan Royals</p></div>

Sanju Samson has won the toss and elected to bowl first in Rajasthan Royals' final group stage outing of IPL 2021. They're playing Eoin Morgan's Kolkata Knight Riders who seal a berth in the playoffs if the win this fixture at Sharjah.

Punjab are playing Lockier Ferguson in place of Tim Southee.

"We put in a strong performance on a slowish wicket in Dubai, and we need to just put up a good score here. Just because of the confidence within the group, we needn't look too far ahead. If we win here, those two points will take care of everything. Try free yourself up, and try to play to win for the team."
Eoin Morgan

Sanju Samson has made four changes with Liam Livingstone playing in place of Evin Lewis who has a niggle. Jaydev Unadkat comes in for Shreyas Gopal while Anjuj Rawat and Chris Morris also return. David Miller and Kuldip Yadav will be sitting out.

"With the past matches, it has been easier to bowl first on this wicket. I think there have been a lot of learnings in the last game. The bounce was varying and it was two-paced. We need to be smarter with our shots and we need to bowl good lines and lengths too."
Sanju Samson

After Thursday's afternoon fixture, KKR and Punjab Kings and Mumbai Indians are all on 12 points but KKR and Mumbai have one match to play each. Between the two though, KKR have a better net run rate so a big win tonight will ensure them a place in the playoffs, even if Mumbai win their match on Friday.

Rajasthan too have an outside chance of making it to the weekend as they currently have 10 points from 13 matches. If they win tonight's match by a big margin, then it could come down to net run rate.

Playing XIs

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Venkatesh Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Sunil Narine, Shivam Mavi, Lockie Ferguson and Varun Chakaravarthy

Rajasthan Royals: Liam Livingstone, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (captain and wicketkeeper), Shivam Dube, Glenn Phillips, Anuj Rawat, Rahul Tewatia, Chris Morris, Jaydev Unadkat, Mustafizur Rahman and Chetan Sakariya

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!