Activists demanding the arrest of AAP MLA’s whose harassment led to the death of Soni. (Photo: IANS)
| 1 min read

AAP’s Sharad Chauhan, Five Others Arrested, Party Targets Modi

Another AAP legislator, Sharad Chauhan, was arrested along with five others here on Sunday in connection with the suicide of a woman party worker, prompting an angry outburst by Delhi’s ruling party against Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The woman, Soni, committed suicide on 19 July after being allegedly harassed by Ramesh Bhardwaj, a supporter of Chauhan.

Those arrested include a suspended Assistant Sub-Inspector in Delhi Police, Mukhtiyar Singh, who was probing the harassment case filed by Soni against Bhardwaj. The others were identified as Rajnikant, Amit Bharadwaj, Mohan Verma and Sanjay, a police spokesman said.

Chauhan’s arrest prompted an angry reaction from AAP leader Ashutosh who wondered if Modi had “lost his mental balance”.

In a series of tweets, Ashutosh attacked Modi over the arrests of AAP MLAs.

With the arrest of Sharad Chauhan, the total number of AAP legislators arrested so far has become 12.

The other AAP MLAs arrested are Amanatullah Khan, Prakash Jarwal, Dinesh Mohaniya, Jagdeep Singh, Mahendra Yadav, Akhilesh Tripathi, Somnath Bharti, Surinder Singh, Manoj Kumar, Jitender Singh Tomar and Naresh Yadav.

All but Mehrauli MLA Naresh Yadav, who was arrested by the Punjab Police in connection with the alleged sacrilege incident which took place on 24 June in Malerkotla, Punjab, are out on bail.

Ashutosh said that instead of appreciating the “great job” done by the AAP government in Delhi, Modi was arresting its legislators.

(With inputs from IANS)