5 Factors That Ensured Modi & Nitish’s Win in Bihar

5 Factors That Ensured Modi & Nitish’s Win in Bihar


Video Editor: Varun Sharma

‘Bihar Mein NDA ki Bahar Hai, Ek Bar Fir Modi Sarkaar Hai’

This slogan proved to be a big hit for the BJP and resulted in a hit-wicket for the Opposition. The BJP, which won 22 out of 40 seats in 2014 and the NDA, which won 31 has once again won Bihar comprehensively. This is a much bigger victory because the results have effectively put an end to the politics of the 5-party Mahaghathbandhan, including the Congress and RJD. They have established Brand Modi in the state. For BJP, this is a revenge of the 2015 Assembly elections too.

Let’s try to analyse the arithmetic behind the BJP’s massive victory.

Brand Modi Trumps All

The Opposition has been unable to offer an alternative to PM Modi. When BJP was busy packaging everything under PM Modi’s name, Opposition was busy criticising them.

To prove GST and demonetisation as correct measures, Modi used “Congress’ 70 years Vs BJP’s 5 years”. Issues like Ujjwalla Yojna and Jan Dhan Scheme were publicised. “Modi is Poor, Backward”. “Whatever he is doing is for the nation” – all these proved to be the mantra for Modi’s victory.

Nitish’s Name and Modi’s Magic

Ntish Kumar’s return to the NDA after breaking off in 2014 elections played an important role in the 2019 LS polls. Nitish Kumar’s ‘Sushashan Babu’ and Modi’s ‘Vikas Purush’ image went a long way in ensuring a comprehensive NDA win.

Confidence Within The ‘Gathbandhan’

In the Lok Sabha elections, JDU, BJP and LJP's alliance had a good understanding among themselves – from seat sharing to the last phase. BJP and JDU contested on an equal number of seats: 17. Ram Vilas Paswan’s LJP fought on six seats. To make this alliance successful, BJP even gave up its 5 winning seats. On the other hand Mahagathbandan remained caught up on seat sharing and ticket distribution.

Unity vs Division

Last time, JDU had won just 2 seats. This time it has won way more. It is clear that BJP’s vote has transferred to JDU. Whereas despite fighting together, Congress, RJD, RLSP, Jitan Ram Manjhi’s HAM and Vikassheel Insan Party weren’t able to transfer their votes to each other. What’s more, these parties even ended up fighting against each other on some seats. For instance, in Supaul, Congress’ Ranjeet Ranjan faced the RJD-backed candidate. Furthermore, Gathbandhan not fielding the right candidate was enough to clear the way for NDA. In Begusarai, the RJD-CPI battle resulted in Giriraj Singh’s victory.

Lalu’s Absence

‘Jab tak rahega samosa me aaloo
Tab tak rahega Bihar me Lalu’

This time, Lalu was not in Bihar. He was in a Ranchi jail. If Lalu Yadav were in Bihar, he would’ve been the star campaigner for the grand alliance. Lalu’s absence also led to a feud in the family. Tejaswi and Tej Pratap’s bitter fight came out in public. Although they tried to patch-up later, Tej Pratap even fielded some candidates to contest against his own party.

These results in Bihar are even more important as the state goes to polls next year, with 243 seats in the Assembly up for grabs. Parties which have trumped in the Lok Sabha polls will go to the state polls on a high. Bihar is currently ruled by the JDU-BJP’s NDA. In the 2015 Assembly election, RJD JDU and Congress formed a coalition government. Nitish Kumar was the CM. But, in 2017, Nitish left the Mahagathbandan, and joined hands with the BJP to form an NDA govt. Now, Mahagathbandhan will find it really hard to find an answer to Modi’s magic.

Also Read : NDA sweeps Bihar with 39/40 seats, Mahagathbandhan routed

(The Quint is now available on Telegram. For handpicked stories every day, subscribe to us on Telegram)

Follow our Elections section for more stories.


    Also Watch