West Bengal: Complete Lockdown in Containment Zones From 9 July

The definition of containment zones have also been broadened to include buffer areas as well.

1 min read
Railway station sanitised and passengers checked as the first train arrives at Howrah station from New Delhi. Image used for representational purpose.

The West Bengal government has announced a complete lockdown in containment zones in the state from 9 July.

In a letter to all district magistrates, the municipal commissioner and the police, Home Secretary Alapan Bandyopadhyay also said that the current definition of containment zones will be widened to include previously designated "buffer zones" as well.

The letter further stated that all offices (both government and private), non-essential activities, congregations, transportation and commercial activities will be stopped in these widened containment zones.

It also said that movement of residents in these containment zones will be strictly regulated and that they should be exempted from attending office.

The government will make the list of containment zones in the state available on it's "Egiye Bangla" website.

The order comes into effect from 5pm on 9 July.

(At The Quint, we are answerable only to our audience. Play an active role in shaping our journalism by becoming a member. Because the truth is worth it.)

Stay Updated

Subscribe To Our Daily Newsletter And Get News Delivered Straight To Your Inbox.

Join over 120,000 subscribers!